Kalbi (Marinated Beef Short Ribs) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
OMG! THE INGREDIENT COMBINATION WAS SUPERB. IT SOUNDED SO GOOD I COULD NOT WAIT TO MARINATE I JUST BAKED. DELICIOUS THANK YOU
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Strathmore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
This did not work for us at all. The flavor was very good (hence the 3 stars) on the tiny portion that was edible, but the ribs didn't grill right at all. I think it would have been much better to try this marinade with slow cooking the ribs instead of grilling them. They were almost impossible to eat and mostly went to waste, it was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Photo by RandySweet
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I can see why your friends all request it - repeatedly. Since I found this recipe about 3 months ago I have made these ribs 5 times. This is such the perfect recipe. Every sense - and those of the neighbors - are heightened when this is cooking. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RandySweet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victoria Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I used the marinade for some Korean style spare ribs and then put on the BBQ. My guests really liked the flavor and took the recipe with them. There is nothing I would change in this recipe. BUT, if you were so inclined, you could add hot spices to this to kick it up a notch or two! I'm not into heat but some of you I'm sure are! Aloha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I totally agree with Rogue; these babys are going to be tough and virtually inedible, done with short ribs on a grill for 30 minutes. In a smoker, (periodically basted,) or braised in a reduction sauce or a light broth in the oven, or a dutch oven, stovetop... that'd be the way to go. But, I'll give it three stars foir the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucier Du Fer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I give this only 4 stars because I did not make the recipe as directed. I used boneless short ribs. I ran out of soy so I had to use some teriyaki and also used a gourmet bloody mary mix when I ran out of teriyaki. I didn't have any sesame seeds so I omitted them as well. Instead of grilling, I broiled the ribs for 7 minutes per side and then sliced them into medallions. They were so tender and flavorful and were a huge success at my party. This marinade recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This was good but was a bit salty. Could be my fault because I didn't put as much sugar as the recipe asked for. I would make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by philly6288

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This recipe was amazingly good. I did use the boneless ribs and I did do it in my crock pot is the only thing different. they came out so tender...even my picky hubby loved them =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This recipe works for me. To get the best taste, I marinate the ribs for 5 days. The weather is not too nice to grill right now, so I cook it in my Flavor Wave. It turns out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Great recipe. Simple but yet so yummy. The meat does not require so much time to marinate. I marinated my ribs 2 hours and it was more then enough time. So much flavor. I already tried this marinate on chicken wings and they came out delicious. This will definitely be a recipe that I will use time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kalbi (Korean BBQ Short Ribs)

Traditional Korean barbecued beef ribs marinate in a sweet soy sauce.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States