Kalamata Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Oh my. I love this! Very strong flavors, so be sure you like olives and capers, but if you do, this is delicious! I mixed everything together and put it in the fridge (the parts to my food processor were in the dishwasher), then processed it. Love it so much I was eating it from the food processor without any bread. Guess it's a good thing I am the only one who eats olives in this house! I didn't use just kalamata; I have a jar of assorted greek olives, so I used a few of each in the jar. The hardest part was pitting the olives; I experimented with a few methods and settled on using my large knife by putting it on top of the olive and leaning on it with my body weight. Squished out the pits perfectly. Thanks for the recipe! I'll make it again. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I made this recipe exactly as it is listed and have enjoyed it again and again; I simply spread some on slices of french bread and sprinkle with a small amount of freshly shredded parmesan. Ymm ymm good. Note: When I first made this, I thought it was a bit too much (too salty and too much of the caper flavor), but after I stored it in my frig for a day and allowed it to set up, it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
A good tapenade. I used a Mediterranean olive mix, which worked fine. If you're dumb like me and but olives with pits in them, just use a meat mallet to whack the olive and the pit comes right out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
WOW, Perfect Tapenade!!!!!, could not keep eny for myself after party, made large bowl for about 25 people, all of it was gone by the time i got to the table, but i did get to try it and was Fantastic, and very easy to make. Highly recommend, will make this again over and over, thanks, John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
It was very good but I would omit adding anymore salt since the olives and the capers are salty enough. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I didn't have kalamata olives so I used a tin of green olives that I had on hand. It turned out to be really tasty. My husband ate it all in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
yummy. goes great with goat cheese and rice crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLIVER00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearny, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Great recipe. Even better than the restaurant version that I'm used to! The flavor may be strong for some so what I do is add about 1 part black pearl olives and 3 parts kalamata olives. The black olives are also cheaper so that also saves on the cost. Toast some bread and serve. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Delicious and easy! I just used the spanish and large black olives you get in the jar for my first try because I was too lazy to go to the store. It was still great albeit a bit salty. Can't wait to try with Kalamatas now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is fantastic just as written. It was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. The next time I made it, I added 1/2c unpeeled chopped sautéed eggplant to make it stretch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Seven Layer Taco Dip

See how to make a simple taco dip made with seven essential ingredients.

The Best Swiss Cheese and Beer Fondue

Beer and a touch of Dijon make the difference in this rich, robust cheese fondue.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States