Kalamata Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great, simple recipe. I soaked the kalamata in water for about 15 min to remove some saltiness. (Let dry afterwards). Cut garlic in half 'cause we don't like heavy garlic. Served over a spread of white bean dip on thin slices of baquette. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This was my first experience with kalamata olives, and I wasn't thrilled. The flavor was so much stronger than I expected but that doesn't make it a bad recipe. If I make this again, I will rinse the olives first - I've been told this is a must???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Delicious! I did not deviate from the the recipe. I made it the night before a party and put it in the fridge overnight. It was well received! I will make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was fabulous! and even better, it was fabulously easy! I made this for a NewYears party where the host had gluten/soy/dairy allergies. This was a safe dish and it was a huge hit! Everyone raved about it and couldn't believe it was homemade. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I make this exactly as written and it's delicious. I often bring it to parties and it's always a hit. Great with whole grain bread, hummus, roasted red peppers and mozzarella, feta or goat cheese. I buy the kalamata olives at the warehouse store with pits in them because they are much cheaper. I whack them a couple times with the Slap Chop & the pits come out easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kayleigh
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
LOVED. didnt add much salt, used minced garlic (1 clove = 1 teaspoon chopped garlic), vegetable oil.. So good. Served with French Bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kayleigh
Living In: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
Very Good and Very Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefLes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I never knew it could be so easy to make tapenade at home. This dish is awesome. I had all the ingredients on hand. So Quick, so easy and oh so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Pungent but good flavor, albeit a little on the "sharp" side. I think it could benefit from reducing the amount of both the lemon juice and garlic. Not its best on its own - this is best served, I think, with something to "mellow" it out some; perhaps sliced mozzarella or a creamy dip or spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by JessicaL
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
As written, this tapenade is very good but *very* acidic, so I deducted a star. The second time, I reduced the lemon juice to less than 1/2 teaspoon and it was still more than tangy enough for me. I do not think salt or pepper are needed, but did not deduct any stars as that is written "to taste." I served it on crostini, with a slice of tomato and some feta, and it was delicious. Next time, I may try a bit of cream cheese on the crostini before I spread on the tapenade, or I may just do half kalamata, half black olives. I definitely recommend it, although I would suggest reducing the lemon juice unless you are using a mix of kalamata and black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Chef John's Brandade

This amazing dish from the south of France is a must have!

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States