Kalamata Olive Tapenade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
This was pretty good. I used basil instead of parsley and cut back the capers to 1 tablespoon just based on personal taste. A lot of reviewers said this was too salty, but it wasn't for us. I had to add salt as the recipe states. The lemon juice cuts the saltiness of the olives and capers. It's a nice quick, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Mae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Delicious! I have just put this together, and as I couldn't resist, I tasted it immediately - so good! I think it will be even better after it has sat in the fridge for a bit to "meld". Following the suggestions of other users, I made the following modifications: I did not put in the blender, but rather finely chopped everything by hand, I subbed in a handful of black olives to mellow out the flavor (plus, as we are olive lovers and always have lots, I tossed in a few green olives too!) and I didn't add any additional salt. Also, as I did not have fresh parsley I added 1 tbsp of dried - seems fine! Really good, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
Soo good! I may cut the garlic down a little as it was a little strong and I omitted the salt since the capers and olives are full of it! It was super easy to make and has so much flavor, definatley recommend if you like olives!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This is my first tapenade. I've always bought it, but since moving to rural Idaho, I've found a lack of options at the grocer. I can't knock the recipe too much, because I only loosely followed it. But I did want to offer my experiences. Like other reviewers, I did not blend it, bc i prefer a chunkier tapenade. I also added black olives and pimento stuffed green olives to add color. I did not add any additional salt and I found mine came out too salty. For reference, the kalamata and pimento stuffed olives I put in had between 210 and 240 mg sodium per 4-5 olives. The black olives had less, so I added more. Next time I will look for lower sodium content in the olives I use. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Mmmm, really good! You definitely need to like olives and capers because it's a strong tasting dish. But oh so good! Pretty salty on it's own, do not add salt, just pepper. Our vegan and gluten intolerant friends loved it! I served it on sliced baguette, but like other reviewers suggestions to add goat or cream cheese while serving it to cut down the saltiness a bit. That would complement it well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Love this, except I leave out capers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanya D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
oh yum! i licked out the bowl with my finger :-) so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
I made this recipe yesterday. Loved it! I used green olives. I didn't add salt. I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doris Beall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Great recipe, just finely chop everything. Paired perfectly with the sweetness of balsamic marinated chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Extra Easy Hummus

Healthy dip made from garbanzo beans.

Chef John's Brandade

This amazing dish from the south of France is a must have!

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States