Kalamata Olive and Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Delicious and one I will make again! I thought the dough seemed too wet when I kneaded in the olives and garlic, but the bread is big, moist and excellent, so I wouldn't change the amount of flour. PS I DID leave in an olive pit by accident and my husband nearly broke a tooth! Be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I was rather skeptical while making this bread. It was extremely easy, but when I began kneading the dough, the entire filling burst through and all over my counter. I just managed the get the dough into a ball, pressed some of the filling onto the surface of the dough, and decided to try baking it anyways. It was wonderful! My husband, myself and our two young children polished off most of the loaf at dinner, and finished the rest for breakfast the next morning. Next time I make it (which will be soon), I'll just knead it altogether, and not worry about keeping the filling in the middle. Do try this delicious bread. We ate it with souvlaki and a Greek salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
Given the glowing reviews, I was disappointed. This is a flat-tasting, substanceless bread, essentially a loaf of wonder bread with diced garlic and olive in it. I was able to improve it a bit by drizzling olive oil on top and coating the loaf with fresh rosemary, but I still won't make it again. The bread with cloves of garlic that my grocery (Albertson's) deli makes is far heartier and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this bread yesterday. Followed the recipe to a T. I measured the flour with my scale weighing 1 pound = 4 c of flour. This is one of the easiest recipes for bread that I've ever used. Wonderful results. Will make again. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Made this for "Greek night", used Kitchen aid & added garlic and olives after it was mixed, great flavor. Did'nt even need butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This is the first time making a yeast bread for me! I really liked the simple, clear instructions. The bread turned out very tasty, but I changed the recipe a lot. I used rye flour, and added many herbs, both dry and fresh. I also put QUITE the heaping half cup of olives (I like olives a lot) and I kneaded the olives into the bread, not in the center. With all the changes I did, it still rose, but not a *super* lot. It is quite dense and moist, which is good, imho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Mars

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
It was easy to make. Mine came out kind of salty and I wonder if it's because I didn't have any non-iodidezed salt? Aren't the olives packed in some kind of salt solution? Anyway, it does taste pretty good and I know I'll use it no matter what. Hence, only 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
Found this recipe while looking for a roasted garlic bread recipe. It was really good! The method described really sped up the proofing process. I used my Kitchen Aid mixer instead of a food processor. Here's the ingredient changes I used: only 2 cloves of garlic as what I had was getting a little dry and thus more pungent and a Tbl of dried rosemary, crushed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Gardener

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuttle, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spongebob7
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This bread was so easy to make! I made it by hand because I love the process. It turned out great and was quite tasty along with our lentil soup. I added fresh rosemary to the filling and kneaded the ingredients through the bread. The filling poked out in places but looked pretty and rustic. The texture of the bread was like country white...was hoping it would be more like an Italian loaf...not sure how to achieve that texture since I'm not very experienced in bread baking. This would be a great recipe baked as foccacia too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Yummy! This bread tastes amazing! I added a bit of chopped up roasted red pepper which looked pretty too. I will make this bread whenever we serve lamb and I think it will be a wonderful bread for chicken salad sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

SPAM® Fries with Spicy Garlic Sriracha Sauce

Spam® transforms into a crispy snack that gives the fry a run for its money.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States