Kalamata Olive and Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Very tasty! I used a more traditional method for rising instead of heating anything, and I made the whole recipe by hand. I did use Black and Green Olives because I didn't have Kalamata...although I do love Kalamta!! I let it rise for a full hour on the second rise after shaping. The end result was soft and moist...packed with flavor! I'll try the addition of some olive brine in place of some water next time and maybe a little rosemary. I also only used 1 tsp of salt in the dough because I was using such salty olives! Wonderful recipe-thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Marion, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Good, easy recipe and even better with whole wheat flour if you like really dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Will make this again BUT I will let it rise for a longer period next time as it turned out pretty dense. For this recipe I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes for some reason and I was using the convection oven. The following modifications were made: manzanilla olives instead of Kalamata instead of water used the brine from the olives (eliminated the salt) mixed the garlic and olives right in the bread like other suggested. Nice flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This makes a very satisfying, dense yet tender loaf. I followed the recipe exactly, and it's an easy bread to make in an afternoon. I like the use of the Kalamata olives, but the garlic tasted a little "raw". Next time I will try sauteing the garlic in a little of the olive oil before putting it in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Yummy and very easy to make. I wish it had a denser consistency though, it was very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Great, but way too salty! I would prefer maybe half the salt, but I don't know if reducing it would affect the consistency of the bread. I added rosemary and sun dried tomatoes, and I used some kind of Italian olives instead of Kalamata olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
this bread is sooo sooo good!! the whole house smells wonderful after i baked this!! i also roasted the garlic before i put it in the bread, and io sprikled some oregeno on top. i just mixed it all in bowl. and then baked it in the bowl so it would be perfectly round. it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperUberGoober :)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I made this as stated, but distributed olives and garlic through out the entire loaf and not just the center. I don't have a food processor but even by hand this was super easy even for a non bread maker like myself. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Very easy, and very good. I just mixed it with a spoon and then my hands, and kneaded it a bit in the bowl. I made it with whole wheat flour, and it still came out very moist. I got half way through the recipe before I realized I was out of Kalamata olives. Oops! I used green olives instead, and it was tasty! It did end up a little too salty with the green olives though, so if I do that again I'll cut some of the salt in the bread. Great recipe, and I'll be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I've baked this a bunch of times and i love it. I dropped the olives once to just make garlic bread and another time I used 7/8 cup of wheat flour per cup of flour for a healthier version
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States