Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was pretty simple to make using my Kitchen Aid mixer. I proofed the yeast in my mixer bowl with the warm milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added the whisked egg, vanilla, and butter. After that had combined well, I added the combined flour and salt. After that had combined, I took the submitter's advice and added dried Craisins. I had to add an additional 1/2 c. flour to get the dough to jump on the hook, but once it did, I let it knead with the hook for about five minutes or so. I then let it rise in a greased metal pan on my warm oven, covered with a moist towel, for an hour. After that, I divided the bread into two loaves, rolled it out and added the butter and brown sugar. I formed it into loaves and set them in the loaf pans and covered them again with the moist towel and let them rise for a second time for about fourty-five minutes. It only needed to bake for about a half hour. I don't usually time my breads, you just kind of know after a while. They smell done. This was a fun bread to make and smells out of sight when baking. Quite the stress reliever. No way you can be upset when smelling a wonderful sweet bread baking! Thanks, Valerie. NOTE: I did use unsalted butter, lowfat buttermilk, organic flour and brown sugar Splenda. For those of you who are timid bread makers, just go for it. I used to be, but now I really enjoy making bread by hand. Use your Kitchen Aid. It cuts your work in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I'm the submitter of the recipe. I'm so glad many of you have enjoyed our family recipe. I've put practically everything under the sun in this bread! A favorite of my family is chopped bittersweet chocolate and dried tart cherries. It's divine. It's also good to add cocoa to the dough to make chocolate bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Warm gooey goodness! This was soooo good! I about doubled the brown sugar requirement for the filling, and added walnuts and it turned out absolutely fabulous. I would love to try the cocoa powder/butter/vanilla mixture. Or maybe sugar/orange/cranberry/pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This makes the most wonderful cinnamon raisin bread! I added the dry ingredients into the wet the second time I made these and they were even better than the first loaves. I added 1 cup of soaked raisins in the last few minutes of kneading. I doubled the cinnamon sugar filling. Wow! SO GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Most of my family, except my 12 year old daughter loved this! My husband thought that it was a little dry, but otherwise good. Being a born and bred Hungarian, I have had this before. I did "tweak" the method a bit though. I don't have a stand alone mixer, so I used a food processor, which meant that it didn't need as much time in kneeding. And to help the process of rising, I used a tip which I learned while making some bread: I put the dough in a bowl, covered it and let it rise in about six inches of warm water. I did the same when the dough needed to rise a second time, but instead a put it in bread tins! It really worked, and the dough was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aeroplane
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This is a wonderful recipe! I cut it in half so I only made one loaf. I decided to proof my yeast for 10 minutes in the warm milk with the sugar, and it is a good thing I did that because my first pack was dead! I added the egg, vanilla, and (unsalted)butter to that, and then mixed in the flour and salt. I don't like to use a mixer when I'm only making one loaf so I kneaded my dough by hand, but besides that I followed the rest of the directions and it was done in exactly 30 minutes. I waited for it to cool and it sliced beautifully. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aeroplane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Havre De Grace, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
WOW! that is the best cinnamon bread i've ever eaten! i did use whole wheat flour instead of white- still fabulous. the only problem i had was that it formed a "skin" on the outside while rising, but that was because i left it to rise while i was at work (a/b 3 hours or so). after i punched it down and rolled it out, it was fine though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sporky08

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is fantastic cinnamon bread. It makes the best french toast, too. I've received many compliments and my kids beg for me to make it. A great comfort food for winter. Made the dough in my breadmaker then followed rest of recipe as written. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Heaven on earth is the only way I can describe this recipe! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! The only thing I did different was disolve the yeast in the warm milk before adding to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carson
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
Excellent! I used this recipe as a base. It's an extremely versatile and user friendly combination of ingredients. Out of habit, I always proof my yeast first. While that's proofing, I combine half the flour and the rest of the dry ingredients minus the salt in a stand up mixing bowl. Once proofed, I blend it with what's in the bowl and mix with a paddle attachment. Then I add the rest of the flour, the salt, and tossed in a BIG handful of quick oats and 5-6 tablespoons of wheat germ (so I wouldn't feel guilty eating it), then used the dough hook. I took suggestions from other readers and soaked 2 cups of dried cranberries and squeeze drained well. I added a shy 1/2 teaspoon of finely grated lime zest and combined with cranberries. After the first rise, I hand kneaded the berries and zest into the dough. After baking, and while the bread was still hot out of the oven, I liberally drizzled Vanilla Glaze (from this site) over both loaves and IMMEDIATELY sprinkled crushed granola into the still wet glaze. All I can say is, "WOWZA!" Thanks wisweetp for sharing your secrets for this extraordinary culinary treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keokuk, Iowa, USA
Living In: Petoskey, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States