Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Made this for the first time today. Super easy, even without a mixer. The taste & texture is fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Flaherty, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This bread is amazing! will be making often! I read the reviews first so I made a couple of changes based on what I read read. First I used 1/2 bread flour, 1/2 all purpose. the bread was light and fluffy will do that from now on., second I used 1/3 cup sugar in the dough itself, as some people said it wasn't sweet enough. I think it made it too sweet. will use only the 1/4 cup as recipe states. I doubled the filling recipe but trippled the cinnamon. was so good. I also soaked 2 cups of raisins and added them to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
This is a great cinnamon bread recipe, its very forgiving. I did proof the yeast before adding all the other ingredients and doubled the cinnamon brown sugar mix. I will be using this as my to go to cinnamon bread recipe from now on, would also like to try this recipe out as cinnamon buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiansmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
So, so, so incredibly good!!! Added raisins and used bread flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
My husband made this by hand and we used the cinnamon sugar I had mixed up some time before. We omitted the raisins and halved the recipe to make one loaf. Other than that, we stuck closely to the recipe and we enjoyed it very much, although my husband said he would use much more cinnamon sugar filling than called for (he loves sweets!). Definitely is a good base for all kinds of variations. Thank you for a great and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
soooooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made the dough in my bread machine. I used 1/4 cup more sugar then suggested because I was making it for a craft fair and wanted the bread itself to be sweet, not just the cinnamon mixture. I also cut them into peices after rolling it tightly and placed it into lined cupcake tins. They were perfect! I have never attempted "cinnamon rolls" before, and I probably never will now. This was just too perfect. :) I'm making them again to take on a family road trip. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is a nice bread, but for us, nothing exciting. To be fair, I really wanted to add raisins but didn't have any and I think that would've made a huge difference. I increased the cinnamon/sugar amounts almost by 3 and there still just isn't alot of flavor to this bread. Nice texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
The only thing that should change about this recipe is the use of "stars" for rating. It should be little pants. How many pant sizes do you think you'll go up after making this recipe! If you make it once, you WILL make it again, and again, and again. DELICIOUS! I made it for dinner, and my husband has already called dibs on the remaining slices for his breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
I haven' made this yet-- hopefully next week- but wanted to ask a question... can this bread be made rolled as one longer thinner loaf, rather than a bread pan shape? Baked on a cookie sheet? l am tring to (attempt) to duplicate a rolled bread my motherinlaw used to make every year. She passed away & of course- recipe was never written. She made a nut roll and a prune jelly roll- long and not as fat as a bread pan bread. I am hoping this fits the bill as a "new tradition" in our family and want to surprise everyone at Christmas. I think making it as you state with cinnamon or cocoa will be a nice update. Thanks in advance for any advice you may have. My MIL was of HUngarian descent which is why I think this could be it ! I gave 5 stars as I know this will be good ; ). I'm especially eager to try it as french toast...yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States