Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is fantastic cinnamon bread. It makes the best french toast, too. I've received many compliments and my kids beg for me to make it. A great comfort food for winter. Made the dough in my breadmaker then followed rest of recipe as written. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I have made this bread several times. I always bring loaves of it when I visit my children. It is a favorite of my whole family. I did not make any changes. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I made this wonderful recipe and it is all everyone said it would be. However, unless my yeast is getting old, I would add 2 T. Yeast as it did not rise very well. If you look at the picture of the bread, it is rather flat. I think this addition will do the trick. Wonderful flavour with added raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I tried this recipe on the weekend and it was fabulous! I doubled the cinnamon as we love it with lots of cinnamon. It turned out so good, that I ended making it 3 days in a row! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I used bread flour instead of all purpose and kneaded the dough by hand. It came out wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FlyingFur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This bread is DELICIOUS! The only change I made was to double the filling and lightly brush the loaves with melted butter once they're out of the oven to help keep the tops from being too dry. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My Hungarian grandmother is a tough critic, and she quite enjoyed it. I ran out of butter (guess I should have checked before hand...) and finished with applesauce- couldn't taste the difference. The only negative thing (if you could call it that) is that the bread needed a good 5-10 minutes more in the oven. Overall, gooey goodness! Both loaves disappeared within hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was just right, not too sweet, it is exceptionally delicious with melted butter in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
simply FINOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Cegled, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Most of my family, except my 12 year old daughter loved this! My husband thought that it was a little dry, but otherwise good. Being a born and bred Hungarian, I have had this before. I did "tweak" the method a bit though. I don't have a stand alone mixer, so I used a food processor, which meant that it didn't need as much time in kneeding. And to help the process of rising, I used a tip which I learned while making some bread: I put the dough in a bowl, covered it and let it rise in about six inches of warm water. I did the same when the dough needed to rise a second time, but instead a put it in bread tins! It really worked, and the dough was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States