Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This bread is DELICIOUS! The only change I made was to double the filling and lightly brush the loaves with melted butter once they're out of the oven to help keep the tops from being too dry. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prattville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Elmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Absolutely delicious! My Hungarian grandmother is a tough critic, and she quite enjoyed it. I ran out of butter (guess I should have checked before hand...) and finished with applesauce- couldn't taste the difference. The only negative thing (if you could call it that) is that the bread needed a good 5-10 minutes more in the oven. Overall, gooey goodness! Both loaves disappeared within hours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCambodianCook
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
This was just right, not too sweet, it is exceptionally delicious with melted butter in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCambodianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
simply FINOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Cegled, Pest, Hungary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Most of my family, except my 12 year old daughter loved this! My husband thought that it was a little dry, but otherwise good. Being a born and bred Hungarian, I have had this before. I did "tweak" the method a bit though. I don't have a stand alone mixer, so I used a food processor, which meant that it didn't need as much time in kneeding. And to help the process of rising, I used a tip which I learned while making some bread: I put the dough in a bowl, covered it and let it rise in about six inches of warm water. I did the same when the dough needed to rise a second time, but instead a put it in bread tins! It really worked, and the dough was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
thanks for the recipe it took me beck to my childhood when my grand mother baked it for me I prepared it with sugar and ground poppy seed filling as they make it hungary and croatia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shezzza
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Heaven on earth is the only way I can describe this recipe! Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! The only thing I did different was disolve the yeast in the warm milk before adding to the flour mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Warm gooey goodness! This was soooo good! I about doubled the brown sugar requirement for the filling, and added walnuts and it turned out absolutely fabulous. I would love to try the cocoa powder/butter/vanilla mixture. Or maybe sugar/orange/cranberry/pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
This was beautiful, next time i'm just going to add some extra cinnamon mix, but thats just more a personal taste for us, we love cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Werribee, Victoria, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-109 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States