Kalacs (Hungarian Cinnamon Swirl Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Mixed feelings on this recipe. For some reason I can never get the dough to rise. I have tried multiple times now and I always get the same result. This latest time I used advice from other reviewers and proofed the yeast first. The dough again did not rise at all. Oddly, the bread while not as full as it should be always turns out delicious. I would have the agree that the overall taste is the best cinnamon bread I have ever had. I am not using a mixer (all by hand), so maybe that is where my problem is? I have made a number of other yeast breads and never had this issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirrin Peart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
It was so good. First bread I made and I did double the brown sugar and cinnamon and it turned out great. For yeast best to use warm milk like you would fix for a baby. If it is to hot the yeast won't set. My mom told me that bit of advice and it really works well. I also tempered the eggs into butter to make sure I did not end up making scramble eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Very easy to make and it is great right out of the oven. It also makes great french toast because it is a slightly dense bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
it was wonderful I took it over to my grand kids and two loaf were gone mom and day did not get any so I made 4 loafs and everyone did get some. that was great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DonsAvocados
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly as written & it turned out great! Had a nice crusty top, airy center & just the right amout of sweetness from the cinnaswirl! I plan on using this recipe often! This will make excellent French toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I doubled the brown sugar and added 1 cup chopped pecans to the filling. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda W

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
WONDERFUL !!! Adding to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I wasn't impressed, bread didn't hold together well when baked due to filling, it seemed to unwind and make impossible to toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
We make it with solo poppyseed filling. Oh my G-d!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I've been looking for a great and easy bread recipe that is versatile, and have found it! I've made this recipe twice now, both times making only one loaf Cinnamon, the other plain, by omitting the cinnamon and brown sugar step. The family devours it every time! I think this dough would also make great dinner rolls or sweet rolls, and plan on trying that next time. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States