Kae's Turkey Pot Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
The crust was very flaky and fairly easy to work with, but to make a two crust pie from the amounts given, had to roll it verrrry thin. Would increase the crust ingredients next time to have a little more dough to work with. Also chilled the crust in the fridge to let the dough rest while making the sauce, then rolled out. We sauteed a diced small onion and a clove of garlic in the butter before adding the flour, then used half-and-half and water to make the sauce, which still tasted really good. After the sauce came together, we added the turkey and frozen mixed veggies, letting it simmer for about 10 mins with a lid on to cook up the veggies before putting in a crust and into the oven. Made a nice dinner, but took a little time to get everything together and done. Would probably double the sauce next time, as we felt it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This recipe was amazing and resulted in the pie pan being licked clean! I will admit to changing a few things but the sauce - which is the heart and soul of this pie - was perfect. First, I used a pre-made crust because I didn't have time to make one from scratch. In our house we can't stand canned or frozen veggies so I diced onion and celery and shredded a carrot. I sauteed the veggies in a bit of EVOO. Instead of rubbed sage I added about a tbspn of fresh chopped sage and a tbspn of fresh chopped thyme to the veggie mixture after I turned the heat off. I followed the sauce exactly and then combined everything and dumped it into the crust. The cooking time was spot on. Definitely give it time to rest before cutting into it and you will end up with perfect pieces. I've been asked to use this in our regular rotation! Thank you, Kae!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this into individual pot pies but I could have used more sauce. Loved the flavor. All in all it turned out good. My mom even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I'm not a big fan of commercial pot pies. This was delicious. My only change was the crust - I used Pillsbury roll-out pie crust because I stink at making crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scotland, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chef2b
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe. Instead of canned vegetables, I used cooked carrots, celery, potatoes and peas. Also, I did not have evaporated milk on hand, so I used regular milk instead. The dough was very easy to work with and I was able to use the recipe as is to line the top and bottom of a rectangular baking dish. My husband ate half of this pie all by himself! Will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
First attempt at a home made pot pie, and man did they get into it! We wanted to try something different and not an everyday dinner so I made this! Two, with chicken instead of turkey, and man the crust was perfect. I steamed a few different frozen veggies of our pick, just before tender, then added them to the recipe when called. Everyone that ate it is still been commenting about it (especially the crust), I made for a dinner on Martin Luther King Jr day, and a little gathering at work for the second pie. I will be making this again and have a feeling it will be pretty soon...Thanks so much for the scrumptious recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I had trouble with the crust but not due to the recipe, I'm not a natural born baker. But I will use butter next time. I also used left over gravy rather than the milk. I used what veggies I had on hand. Tip: If the pie pan you're using is the same size as a throw-away pie pan, cut out the center and then just lay it on top of the pie to protect the edges. When you're done just save it for future pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
OMG!! I don't care what anyone says about the recipe...it was awesome. I started out by doubling the recipe and for the first time ever, there were no left overs. It tates soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bigsecxi
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I feel like the next Marie Callender! The crust was unbelievably tasty (which seems bizarre with such few ingredients), however I had to make a bit more than the recipe called for in order for it to cover the whole pan. I used butter instead of shortening (mostly because shortening reminds me of some sort of callus cream) and left out the sage because I didn't have any. SCRUMPTIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by outwardman716
Home Town: Seffner, Florida, USA
Living In: Colton, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dad’s Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

See how to make a simple savory pot pie with veggies and leftover turkey meat.

Turkey and Veggie Alfredo Pot Pie

See how to turn leftovers into a super-simple pot pie.

Turkey Pot Pie I

See how to make homemade pot pie with veggies and savory spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States