Kaes-Spaetzle Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2014
Excellent with beef bourguignon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by geebz
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Very good and went over well with my picky 10-year old eater. I hate it when people modify recipes but this one I'm only adding 2 eggs because it was very runny and I think that adding only two will cut down on that. Glad that you posted and happy to have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made without a spaetzle maker, used a pastry bag and cut off with my finger, took a little while but it was well worth it. Loved the taste!!!! thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Definitely do not make without a spaetzle maker! But well worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renate

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reichertshofen, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
It was very good, but such a mess! I'm not sure if I will make this again without a pastamaker because it was such a hassle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I do not have a spaetzle maker, and prefer to tip the bowl slightly over the pot you cook them in, and just take a wet a knife and cut them off the lip of the bowl into the pot. They are like little dumplings. Nice reheated the next day in butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
When my mother died, many of her recipes were lost and I have been searching for a spaetzle recipe that matched hers- this recipe was wonderful- light, fluffly little pillows of pasta. I couldn't find my spaetzle maker so instead I improvised using a grilling basket designed for the outdoor BBQ. I placed the rather large basket over the boiling water, plonked a cup of dough in and smoothed it thru the basket with a spatula. It worked beautifully. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I accidentally stumbled across this recipe and I'm so glad I did. I love spaetzle and make it certainly more frequently than the average American, but I've always made it with pork roast and served with gravy. This is an excellent change of pace. If you like spaetzle invest in a spaetzle maker. Mine looks like an extra large potato ricer and has a variety of plates to choose from to vary the size of the spaetzle. It's so easy I use it when I make chicken or turkey soup. Rather than buying noodles I make spaetzle and squeeze into the soup when everything else is done cooking. I made this recipe for supper last night. Followed the recipe exactly except I grated fresh nutmeg and fresh pepper across each layer before I added the cheese. I used a bag of shredded swiss cheese since I didn't want to spend $9 on cheese when I wasn't sure if we'd like the recipe. I'm sure it would be even more delicious if you bought better quality cheese. My bag of cheese had 2 cups in it and that worked out fine, although if you really want cheesy go for the whole amount. The onions on the top are so delicious. My husband asked if I added French onion soup mix. (I did not.) He said it reminded him of French onion soup. I did cook the onions in butter rather than oil. It only took 3 Tbsp. of butter. I also forgot to add the vinegar, but that was okay. The thing that really made this meal was what I served with it. I made a simple salad with cucumber, cherry tomatoes, and red onion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
My boyfriend made this for me and it was DELICIOUS! So simple, yet so good. He added some roasted peppers and it was wonderful. Just as a warning, though, this dish does not reheat well. That is, if you can keep yourself from eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forest Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
Great Recipe! The spaetzle was a little more difficult to make than we thought it would be. We live in Bavaria right now...so we can just go pick up a package of it to make the preparation much easier. We made the recipe as written. We are definitely keeping this one! But, we are going to mix the onions in with the spaetzle cheese mixture and also add some broccoli to it next time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Spaetzle Dumplings

These traditional dumplings are boiled then fried in butter.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Manicotti

Manicotti are stuffed with three-cheese filling, sauced, and baked to beautiful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States