Kabritu Stoba (Dutch Antilles Goat Stew) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
We enjoyed this stew, but found it a bit bland. Maybe an extra dab of the sweet soy sauce and some chili powder would perk it up? Loved the flavour of the goat itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Algu hopi importante a keda afó, curry. I'm happy I'm not the only Dutch Antillean here. I love goat stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this in my slow cooker for about 8 hours and let it cook overnight. The goat was so tender the next day, we didnt need to pull it off of the bones. The flavors and spices were amazing. i had made it for a potluck at the office and everyone couldn't believe it was goat. I didn't have any left to bring home! AWESOME RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I didn't want to open a can of tomato paste for one spoonful, so I used a tomato-based hot sauce instead. This dish filled the kitchen with amazing aromas, and the nutmeg complements the goat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
This was fantastic. Use my crock pot to slow cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tkaufman25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
This was awesome! I followed the directions exactly up to Step 3: I poured all the contents into a crock pot and let it simmer on low for 4 hours. To adapt the recipe to the crock pot, I added 2 additional cups of water and a can of chicken broth. This was my first time trying goat...and I wasn't disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danigurrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Got some goat at the farmer's market and was not sure what to do with it. Tried this recipe for a weeknight dinner, and was very happily rewarded. Delicious, slightly sweet, and the goat is unlike any other meat I have tried. Texture similar to veal, but MUCH more flavorful. I recipe I will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I thought this stew was amazing. The end product is a very thick stew--think saucy, not soup. Also, don't be afraid to add as much water as necessary to keep it from sticking, the stew will still be flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren Wolfe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Superb flavor, served with fresh spinach salad, unique dish fit for a king
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bright, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jasper, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I'm not sure what flavor this was supposed to have, but the end product was not to our liking. I won't even attempt this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States