Kabob Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
This is a very simple and delicious marinade for beef kabobs. I cut the recipe in half for about 1.5 lbs. of meat. I used olive oil instead of veg.oil, low sodium soy sauce, and dijon for the prepared mustard. I left out the meat tenderizer, put everything into a ziploc bag and marinated it for over 24 hours. I skewered the meat separate from the peppers, onions, and cherry tomatoes as they cook at different rates. The meat was very tender and full of flavor - perfect with a side of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2006
This marinade is something else! My boyfriend and I made shrimp and steak kabobs tonight using this marinade. I only had about 4 hours to marinade but it turned out amazing. I can only imagine what a steak would taste like after 24 hours in this stuff. I wouldn't change a thing! I made a double batch and not only marinated the steak but also the shrimp, mushrooms, carrotts, and zucchini. I used a seperate bag for the veggies. Also, used a low sodium soy sauce and used as much as the recipe called for and it was excellent, not too salty at all. I would give it more stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEASTMAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Guess what? We tried it on venison. We cut back on the oil and rather than msg we used montreal steak spice for a bit more zip. All I can say is WOW!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
FANTASTIC!! I doubled the recipe and let a combination of sirlion and chicken chunks marinate for several hours. I reserved some to brush on while cooking. I also used pineapple chunks, cherry tomatoes, green peppers, red onions, and mushrooms on our kabobs. I cooked them under the broiler and brushed the kabob with the marinade several times during cooking. I will be using this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3monsters2feed

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saybrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
Made the meat very tender. Very Good! Next time I will add a little more spices. My son and his friend just walked in and grabbed a kabob. My son's friend said the meat is very flavorful. After eating the leftovers my husband said to come back and change my rating to Excellent (5 stars).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
excellent! the mustard really gives this a good taste!! i doubled the recipe and used about 6 cloves of garlic plus maybe 1/2 t. of garlic powder. Marinate your steaks overnight grill em 4-6 min on each side. perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This recipe was amazing for beef kabobs! I used spicy brown mustard because that's all I had, and let it set overnight as it says. It was so good that I wanted to try it on something else. I chose pork in a slow cooker- it was way too overpowering. I guess I learned my lesson. Can't have too much of a good thing. ;) It Definetly deserved 5 stars with beef, and the recipe now stays with all my family recipes that I plan to pass on when I have children one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2003
I made this for my mom's birthday and everyone RAVED over it!! Our neighbors were intrigued by the smell and so now I have to give out tons of copies of this recipe!! What a hit! I used about 3/4 cup oil and instant beef broth and seasoning mix instead of the msg. I also used Bragg Liquid Aminos instead of soy sauce (they have the SAME taste and both are made of soy beans, Braggs is just way healthier). We will use again and again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamelia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Living In: Shelton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Excellent! Used this on cubed beef for our big BBQ and there were no left overs. We added red and orange peppers to the scewers along with a mushroom here and there. Instead of soy sauce I used Tamari Sauce since it's not as salty. I also made extra marinade for portabella mushrooms since my sister is a vegetarian. She absolutely loved them! It's great over rice! too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacific, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
Excellent! I've only used chicken, and it's so tasty! If you just marinate the whole chicken breast, it won't totally penetrate the meat. It's better to cut it up...go for the kabobs! Sometimes I use just a tad less soy sauce...if you have very small pieces of meat, they will tend to taste too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Flank Steak Marinade

What's cooking in Detroit? A flank steak marinade to wow them at the grill.

Deep-Fried Turkey Marinade

This marinade makes a tasty, moist, flavorful bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States