Justin's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Delish! Didnt have celery, so I used celery salt, added dill weed, pimentos, couple pinches of sugar and about 1 T vinegar, for half of the amount of mac in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Made this for a party and it was a hit. Love that there's no mayo or eggs. I used a light ranch dressing, substituted carrots for the celery, and used red pepper instead of green. The salad comes out light and tasty...very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
First I should say that I am not really the one to be rating mac salad, as I am not a fan of it. Surprisingly, this is one of the few American dishes that my husband loves, and when I saw there were olives in this(family owns olive orchards), I knew I had to make it for him. I followed the recipe to the 't'..down to measuring w/measuring cups. The only subs I made were red onion instead of vidallia (for color) and used both green and black olives. I also had half of a cucumber left over from some cuke sauce so I finely chopped the half small cuke and added that. I thought I had written the recipe down wrong and had omitted eggs. I have never made mac salad w/o eggs before but did not miss them. My husband loved this and I too, liked it very much. It was not real sweet, which is my problem w/liking mac salad....(that darned ole' sweet pickle relish). There was a nice balance of vegetable flavor; one was not too overpowering of the other. I added salt at the end because our olives come from hubby's family and are pretty heavily brined. This is the salad I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I loved this salad! I normally hate macaroni salad. This was exceptional. I loved it-without any substitutions or omissions (although Vidalia onions weren't available so we used another sweet kind of onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was easy, fast & delicious. I used fat free mayo. I didn't have any celery so I used small jar of chopped pimento (drained) and a little extra green pepper and onion. Also added a little ground celery seed and dill. SCRUMPTUOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Pretty good stuff. I don't like celery so I just added more peppers and it came out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
My husband too LOVES Olives! I used bottled Casear Dressing instead of making as stated because that was the closest thing I had to a "creamy" dressing. Worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was perfect! I was looking for a recipe with black olives and without sugar, and this is the one I'm using from now on. Followed it to the 'T,' no changes. I also like that you can mix it up, with regards to vegies. Sometimes I use onion, sometimes not. Sometimes I use yellow pepper. It's all good. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
In the South, we typically have pasta salads that put a whole new meaning on heavy, and this was by far the best change of pace ever! This is light, healthy (if you make it that way) and had a wonderful, Med. taste! I changed it up just a bit. I used Helman's low-fat Mayo and ran out, so ended up using two heaping spoonfuls of non-fat plain yogurt in addition to the mixture. I bought a can of olives, pitted them over the bowl so the olive juice could soak into the salad, and then tore them up. It added such an awesome flavor and for people who don't like olives, this lets them get a hint of the olive flavor without having to muster the strength to have the whole olive. I also chose to add some diced ham to mine as well. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinLiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States