Justin's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
classic and good--you have to use mayonnaise, though, none of that whip stuff....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
First I should say that I am not really the one to be rating mac salad, as I am not a fan of it. Surprisingly, this is one of the few American dishes that my husband loves, and when I saw there were olives in this(family owns olive orchards), I knew I had to make it for him. I followed the recipe to the 't'..down to measuring w/measuring cups. The only subs I made were red onion instead of vidallia (for color) and used both green and black olives. I also had half of a cucumber left over from some cuke sauce so I finely chopped the half small cuke and added that. I thought I had written the recipe down wrong and had omitted eggs. I have never made mac salad w/o eggs before but did not miss them. My husband loved this and I too, liked it very much. It was not real sweet, which is my problem w/liking mac salad....(that darned ole' sweet pickle relish). There was a nice balance of vegetable flavor; one was not too overpowering of the other. I added salt at the end because our olives come from hubby's family and are pretty heavily brined. This is the salad I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Fairly basic and average macaroni salad. Since the "creamy salad dressing" called for wasn't specific, I used Buttermilk Ranch. I couldn't resist adding dillweed--this really needed more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Even though I have always hated the creamy salad dressing, I used it in this recipe and it was great. I love Macaroni salad, but mine never came out any good til now. I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
i made this for a bbq at my house today and i think it was really good. i only made a couple small changes. i used red onion since its what i had and i used ranch for the creamy salad dressing. i also added in 2 teaspoons of minced garlic and used red bell pepper for the green. i thought this wasnt moist enough after i chilled it so i added a little more milk and it was fine. good crunch from the celery. thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was easy, fast & delicious. I used fat free mayo. I didn't have any celery so I used small jar of chopped pimento (drained) and a little extra green pepper and onion. Also added a little ground celery seed and dill. SCRUMPTUOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I loved this salad! I normally hate macaroni salad. This was exceptional. I loved it-without any substitutions or omissions (although Vidalia onions weren't available so we used another sweet kind of onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I actually added some things to this, as to get it combine salads that my husband loves. I added a cup of diced Colby/Jack, a cup of froze peas, a cup of diced sweet pickles, and I didn't put in the vinager... I also sprinkled about a Tablespoonful of dried Ranch dressing... EXCELLENT base recipe, thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was good. I used ditalini pasta,and in place of the green pepper I added two tablespoons sweet pickle relish and I also added three hard boiled eggs. It was delicious. This was really Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States