Justin's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
classic and good--you have to use mayonnaise, though, none of that whip stuff....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was easy, fast & delicious. I used fat free mayo. I didn't have any celery so I used small jar of chopped pimento (drained) and a little extra green pepper and onion. Also added a little ground celery seed and dill. SCRUMPTUOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
Not my favorite but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Even though I have always hated the creamy salad dressing, I used it in this recipe and it was great. I love Macaroni salad, but mine never came out any good til now. I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2004
Pretty good stuff. I don't like celery so I just added more peppers and it came out quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
First I should say that I am not really the one to be rating mac salad, as I am not a fan of it. Surprisingly, this is one of the few American dishes that my husband loves, and when I saw there were olives in this(family owns olive orchards), I knew I had to make it for him. I followed the recipe to the 't'..down to measuring w/measuring cups. The only subs I made were red onion instead of vidallia (for color) and used both green and black olives. I also had half of a cucumber left over from some cuke sauce so I finely chopped the half small cuke and added that. I thought I had written the recipe down wrong and had omitted eggs. I have never made mac salad w/o eggs before but did not miss them. My husband loved this and I too, liked it very much. It was not real sweet, which is my problem w/liking mac salad....(that darned ole' sweet pickle relish). There was a nice balance of vegetable flavor; one was not too overpowering of the other. I added salt at the end because our olives come from hubby's family and are pretty heavily brined. This is the salad I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Delish! Didnt have celery, so I used celery salt, added dill weed, pimentos, couple pinches of sugar and about 1 T vinegar, for half of the amount of mac in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Very good. I added a little sugar because it was a little acidic for me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
My husband too LOVES Olives! I used bottled Casear Dressing instead of making as stated because that was the closest thing I had to a "creamy" dressing. Worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States