Justin's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Made this for a party and it was a hit. Love that there's no mayo or eggs. I used a light ranch dressing, substituted carrots for the celery, and used red pepper instead of green. The salad comes out light and tasty...very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Very nice macaroni salad. I was afraid that the black olives would dominate the salad, but the flavors mixed together really nicely. This was very good leftover. My husband enjoyed taking it to work for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Seems like everyone else loved it, but I didn't. Maybe I screwed up, but it was very acidic tasting. I wouldn't put as much cider vinegar in it, and maybe not as much onion. It wasn't creamy enough either, so I added more creamy mayo. It still didn't turn out well though. Blaw tasting. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Great macaroni salad-just like Mom used to make. I subbed peppercini for the bell pepper, and used a little sweet pickle relish, and yogurt instead of milk in the dressing as we like it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This salad was a winner at my last party. It is light and different. I hate macaroni salad with too much mayo and eggs. This one only uses a few ingredents with a big impact. No mayo or eggs!! Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
My husband too LOVES Olives! I used bottled Casear Dressing instead of making as stated because that was the closest thing I had to a "creamy" dressing. Worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Very good. I added a little sugar because it was a little acidic for me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Delish! Didnt have celery, so I used celery salt, added dill weed, pimentos, couple pinches of sugar and about 1 T vinegar, for half of the amount of mac in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
First I should say that I am not really the one to be rating mac salad, as I am not a fan of it. Surprisingly, this is one of the few American dishes that my husband loves, and when I saw there were olives in this(family owns olive orchards), I knew I had to make it for him. I followed the recipe to the 't'..down to measuring w/measuring cups. The only subs I made were red onion instead of vidallia (for color) and used both green and black olives. I also had half of a cucumber left over from some cuke sauce so I finely chopped the half small cuke and added that. I thought I had written the recipe down wrong and had omitted eggs. I have never made mac salad w/o eggs before but did not miss them. My husband loved this and I too, liked it very much. It was not real sweet, which is my problem w/liking mac salad....(that darned ole' sweet pickle relish). There was a nice balance of vegetable flavor; one was not too overpowering of the other. I added salt at the end because our olives come from hubby's family and are pretty heavily brined. This is the salad I will make from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2004
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States