Justin's Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
In the South, we typically have pasta salads that put a whole new meaning on heavy, and this was by far the best change of pace ever! This is light, healthy (if you make it that way) and had a wonderful, Med. taste! I changed it up just a bit. I used Helman's low-fat Mayo and ran out, so ended up using two heaping spoonfuls of non-fat plain yogurt in addition to the mixture. I bought a can of olives, pitted them over the bowl so the olive juice could soak into the salad, and then tore them up. It added such an awesome flavor and for people who don't like olives, this lets them get a hint of the olive flavor without having to muster the strength to have the whole olive. I also chose to add some diced ham to mine as well. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ErinLiz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This was perfect! I was looking for a recipe with black olives and without sugar, and this is the one I'm using from now on. Followed it to the 'T,' no changes. I also like that you can mix it up, with regards to vegies. Sometimes I use onion, sometimes not. Sometimes I use yellow pepper. It's all good. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
Made this for a party and it was a hit. Love that there's no mayo or eggs. I used a light ranch dressing, substituted carrots for the celery, and used red pepper instead of green. The salad comes out light and tasty...very fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Very nice macaroni salad. I was afraid that the black olives would dominate the salad, but the flavors mixed together really nicely. This was very good leftover. My husband enjoyed taking it to work for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Seems like everyone else loved it, but I didn't. Maybe I screwed up, but it was very acidic tasting. I wouldn't put as much cider vinegar in it, and maybe not as much onion. It wasn't creamy enough either, so I added more creamy mayo. It still didn't turn out well though. Blaw tasting. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Great macaroni salad-just like Mom used to make. I subbed peppercini for the bell pepper, and used a little sweet pickle relish, and yogurt instead of milk in the dressing as we like it a little creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
This salad was a winner at my last party. It is light and different. I hate macaroni salad with too much mayo and eggs. This one only uses a few ingredents with a big impact. No mayo or eggs!! Hurray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
My husband too LOVES Olives! I used bottled Casear Dressing instead of making as stated because that was the closest thing I had to a "creamy" dressing. Worked fabulously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Very good. I added a little sugar because it was a little acidic for me. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Delish! Didnt have celery, so I used celery salt, added dill weed, pimentos, couple pinches of sugar and about 1 T vinegar, for half of the amount of mac in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States