Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
With some minor modifications this was excellent chili and will become my standing chili recipe. My fiance really liked it and he's a tough critic. I did not use any chicken stock and I'm glad I didn't. I like my chili thick and I believe the stock would have made it more like chili soup. For a little more liquid I put about a half bottle of beer which was the perfect consistency for me. The only other change I made was I added 4 cloves of garlic with the onion and I cut back on the chili powder to 4 tablespoons - which was plenty. I used 3/4 teaspoon of red pepper - which was plenty of spice. I also used Bush's Chili Beans. Topped with cheddar cheese and slatines - YUM! Perfect for a cold night. I can't wait to eat leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
Not sure if this dish really qualifies as Chile. Taste isn't bad but it strikes me as more of a pasta sauce that someone added a lot of beans and chile powder and left out the Italian spices. In Chile the meat should take center stage and have a good balance of vegetables and spices regardless of the heat level. In this, tomatoes clearly dominate with the beans a close second. Meat flavor is seriously lacking and it is very thin and soupy even tho I followed other reviewers suggestions and cut the chicken broth amount in half and increase meat 50%-which are the only changes I made. Sorry Justin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My husband and I entered this in a Chili Cookoff last night and won first place. To make it a little different we added mild italian sausage and reduced the chili powder to 2 tablespoons. Like others suggested, we added 1 can of kidney beans and 1 can of pinto beans. We mixed in some sour cream and cheese and it was excellent. This is really good with the amusement park cornbread recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I have tried this recipe out before and just made some tonight. I think the key here is what kind of chili powder you use. The first time I used the generic real cheap stuff at the supermarket. This time I used a really good, slightly expensive chili powder and toasted in a dry pan first. Let me tell you, it makes all the difference in the world. Before you make this chili, make sure you have a good chili powder in the cubbard. The taste of this chili is truly one of a kind. AAAA++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I have to admit, partway through cooking, I was concerned about how this was going to turn out (the tomato soup was such an obvious flavour, and all I could smell was cumin), but fear not: After following the recipe exactly, this stuff is fabulous! Great flavour, great heat, great consistency. This is good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2006
Easy to make and a real hit at work. Wonderful in a crockpot, just prep meat and onions, then add everything to the crockpot. Great for pot lucks served with grated cheddar and oyster crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Last reviewer is out of their MIND! This is what chili is supposed to taste like. You switched to beef broth instead of chicken broth thats the problem right there. This chili is very good stuff, and to me I think the chicken broth as wierd as it sounds is what makes this chili so good. Simply put, great chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is the best chili I have ever made. I did make some modifications based on other reviews. I used only 1/2 can of chicken broth, and added 1/2 can of beer. I used one can of pinto and one can of kidney beans both drained, but not rinsed. And finally 5 teaspoons of chili powder instead of tablespoons. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This recipe was simply fantastic! I have never been a fan of 'real' chili, but this recipe just changed that! Also, my fiance, who is a huge 'real' chili fan could not stop raving about it! Based on other reviews, I did alter the recipe a little. I only put in one can of chicken broth, I added an extra can of crushed tomatoes, and I added some macaroni to replace one can of the beans. The end result was thick, hearty, spicy and simply divine. Thank you for the recipe, Justin! This will be a regular staple in our house from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
I used your recipe and I came in last place for the chili cookoff. I do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States