Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This is almost exactly the same recipe I use, and I am from Indiana, except I use BEEF Broth and use 2 lbs. of ground chuck. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonya28574

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richlands, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
This is the best chili I have ever made. I did make some modifications based on other reviews. I used only 1/2 can of chicken broth, and added 1/2 can of beer. I used one can of pinto and one can of kidney beans both drained, but not rinsed. And finally 5 teaspoons of chili powder instead of tablespoons. DELICIOUS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
All I can say is I'm glad I don't live in Indiana if this is how Hoosier's enjoy chili. I should have known better, tomato soup and chicken stock don't belong in chili in the first place. I decided to try it again, only this time changing a few things around per other reveiwers comments, it turned out somewhat respectable, but certainly not the best I've ever had. Sorry Justin, I'm tossing this recipe. I guess I'll have to post my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
The best chili recipe I've found - although it was a little thin. Maybe one less can of chicken broth would do the trick. My brother, husband and kids all loved it, and I will definitely make Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Wonderful!! Ihave made this over & over and shared with several folks who love it as much. It IS rather thin but this can be changed by using the juice/paste that comes in cans of Pinto Beans. I love it both ways!! Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
fantastic! omit the broth and one can of beans, but include the bean juice. wonderful recipe worth keeping as a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
This recipe was very good. I made a whole pot and it was eaten in one sitting. I added macaroni, as that's what my family likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
This is the best. I have tried others on this site with good ratings, but this one has them beat. I will stick with this one from now on. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
With some minor modifications this was excellent chili and will become my standing chili recipe. My fiance really liked it and he's a tough critic. I did not use any chicken stock and I'm glad I didn't. I like my chili thick and I believe the stock would have made it more like chili soup. For a little more liquid I put about a half bottle of beer which was the perfect consistency for me. The only other change I made was I added 4 cloves of garlic with the onion and I cut back on the chili powder to 4 tablespoons - which was plenty. I used 3/4 teaspoon of red pepper - which was plenty of spice. I also used Bush's Chili Beans. Topped with cheddar cheese and slatines - YUM! Perfect for a cold night. I can't wait to eat leftovers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULES2JEWELS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States