Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This recipe is very similar to a campbells soup crockpot chili recipe I modified to make stovetop that I LOVE. I have made it with or without red kidney beans (chili beans), black beans, can of tomatoes, macaroni (for chili mac) depending on what I had or didn't have in my pantry. I have also made a 3 or 5 way chili with it using spaghetti or I sometimes add macaroni & call it chili mac. I have even been known to serve it over cooked white rice. I have gone thru many chili recipes until I ran across the campbells recipe. Now discovering this recipe to have much of the same ingredients & contain many similarities, I know it is quite good and not surprised this recipe won an award. The only changes I would make with this recipe is to add less liquid so that it is more of a chili and less of a soup, and add garlic (2 cloves)--a must in my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
i just used this only i added some garlic and didn't use as much chili flakes or powder(wanted it too be more kid friendly) and i won the chili cook off in my apartment complex :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Delhi, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This is the best chili I've ever tasted. I didn't really like chili that much until I had this at my mom's house. I had to get the recipe from her. It's not too obvious from the ingredients, but this chili does have quite a kick to it, which I love! Give this chili a try, even if the ingredients do seem a little odd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
The flavor of this chili is great. In my opinion, the beans are necessary. I like use half pinto and half kidney. Also, there is WAY too much chicken broth in this recipe. I think it has to be a mistake. Use half the amount of chicken broth at the very most. I use even less than that. Otherwise, it becomes more of a broth that tastes like chili. This chili is great when garnished with sour cream, chives, lime wedges, and cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: University Place, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly. It was very flavorful and easy, but a little soupier than I prefer even though I drained the beans. I think it could be made with less broth and soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I haven't tried his chili but I just wanted to say I love the name of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This is great! I followed the recipe with one exception...I used red kidney beans in lieu of pinto beans. The recipe is wonderful. It is truly comfort food with you're looking for something to keep you warm on a cool evening. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Wow...I had to add an additional 2lbs of ground pork to make this even taste edible..spices were ok...way too runny..chili should stand up in a spoon !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Original recipe I would give 4 stars but after tweaking it just a bit, this was darn good chili!!! I doubled the recipe but added an extra pound of ground beef (3lbs all together) In addition to onion, I added some green/red bell pepper. I added 2 cans of drained diced tomatoes and used kidney beans instead of pinto. Instead of the cayenne pepper, I used ground chipotle chili pepper and this I think is what made this recipe excellent. I added a generous amount and it gave it a smokey taste that was just DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I think this recipe is excellent. I made it several years ago and got back on here to find the recipe. I was so excited that I was able to find it again. I leave it in the crockpot all day and by dinner mmmmm! Paired with some homemade cinnamon rolls it is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States