Justin's Hoosier Daddy Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This chili was pretty good, but not a favorite of ours. I thought it had too much of a tomato taste, or at least more than I like. All three of my boys did eat it without complaining though. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was good, but I tweaked it. I only added 1 cup of chicken broth/soup and I cooked the large, chopped onion in the chicken broth/soup before adding that to the Crock Pot. Two cans of chicken soup would have made this soup - not chili. I added 2 T. Chopped Jarred Garlic and extra Cumin. I did not add the salt and it doesn't need it! It was good. Hubby wanted more heat, I thought it was fine as written. This would be a good chili recipe to take on a cabin trip where traveling with canned goods makes things easier. It was a good dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've made this recipe for years. It is the best chili I've ever tasted. I don't add cayenne but nothing else is changed about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
couldn't eat it as written - had to add brown sugar, honey, instant potato flakes and lime juice to tone down the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Ive made some adjustments to this chili and how thick I make it... the addition of the chicken broth really makes it more "soupy" style, and we like our chili pretty thick so I add very little, if any. However, this has become our household's go-to recipie for chili! Added bonus is that it is Gluten Free, which is big for our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA
Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This is a very "safe" chili w/ lots of potential. I ommited the broth & added garlic w/ the onions - great consistency. I like a little kick & thought this recipe was missing that (did only use 4 Tbsp. chili powder, next time stick w/ 5). Overall, "family-friendly" recipe but not for your die-hard chili fan's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe has become "my recipe" for chili. I tried a lot of recipes before I settled on this one. This is not really a thick recipe, but my favorite part of the soup is the broth part anyway. We cut way back on the chili powder because the kids were having a hard time eating it. Other than that, keep the recipe the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
EXCELLENT !!! I use 2lb of ground beef because its a little soupy otherwise. But I like mine a little soupy. And diced tomatoes instead of crushed. Best Chili Ive ever had !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Tremblay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I was looking for something a little different than my own recipe. This is perfect- surprisingly sweet and savory at the same tame. The only modification was that I didn't add the salt. For me, there's enough in the tomatoes and stock. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baglady629

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This is good for a fast chili. I followed others' suggestions and omitted chicken broth and used a half bottle of beer instead. I liked the thickness, but my husband said it could have been even thicker. Good flavors -- I substituted chipotle chili powder for one of the tablespoons of chili powder -- that gave it a good, smoky quality to it. I'll probably make it again when I need a fast chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALMETTOMEL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

It's Chili by George!!

See how to make a prize-winning beef and bean chili.

Debdoozie's Blue Ribbon Chili

This may be the easiest chili recipe you ever make. And it's delicious!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States