Justin's Favorite Smokies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
#1 I knew I wanted something more than cocktail wieners. I used Johnsonville Cheddar & Jalopeno Sausage. Heated the sausage covered with water in a sauce pan for 10 minutes over medium heat to cook out a good bit of the far. Cut each sausage into 3 pcs. Used Pillsbury Crescent rolls. Spread 1/2 tsp of Sweet Baby Rays BBQ sauce on the roll.( tsp will run out all over the place) Next added 1/2 slice of Sargentos Pepper Jack on the roll. Then rolled up a piece of sausage in the roll Bake for 9-10 minutes at 375.(400 is too much for the rolls . .look at the container) Tastiest game treat I have ever made. The BBQ sauce mellowed out the peppers. Much . . much tastier than a wiener.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wild_bill_hiccup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
So good. They are requested often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
If you place the Lil' Smokies and the cheese in the middle, roll them up and cook them without the sauce, they make less of a mess and you can serve the sauce on the side to dip......because who doesn't like to dip? This is also good if you roll them up in crescent roll dough and make a sauce of half BBQ sauce, half grape juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
Really good. My only change was to use reduced fat crescent rolls instead of biscuits. I made a little assembly line of ingredients and the process was quicker and easier. Worth the efforts. Family and friends ate the up. Bbq sauce and the lil smokie goes hand in hand. Great lil appy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Tasty but the timing is off on cooking...my one batch especially turned out a little charred on the bottom. Hubby's lodge buddies loved this and it will be something I'll try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saugerties, New York, USA
Living In: Schoharie, New York, USA
Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
These tasted really good. However, I do have some suggestions. #1 I would use cresent rolls. #2 I would use atleast 2 lil smokies per cresent. I just got finished eating these and found myself peeling away all the extra buiscut and just eating the middle where the lil smokie was. Even though it was not difficult to construct with the biscuit dough, I tried several methods of pinching and rolling them closed. Most opened up atleast partially during the cooking process. The cresent roll would probably be better presentation wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Great twist on pigs in a blanket. I used one can of crescent rolls (didn't have buscuits, and really needed to use up the crescents.) I made a basic bbq sauce from this site. I also used two lil smokies inside each crescent. Hmm Hmm good. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This was rather good and the kids loved them! The only thing is I wasn't sure if they were suppose to be completely sealed in the biscuit or if the ends were suppose to stick out! VERY GOOD !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myhoneybear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Great recipie loved it. have also used creacent dough with no bean chili inside.great job thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Bacon Wrapped Smokies

See how to turn three simple ingredients into a tantalizing party appetizer.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States