Just Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Good recipe, Upped the cheese to 4 cups as it seemed lacking and used a mix of smoked, mild, and sharp cheddar and it turned out fantastic! Great if you can't eat solids after dental work and you want something full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I halfed the recipe and also pureed the soup before adding the cheese. It was good. I used it to mix half and half with tomato soup in a bowl for a recipe/idea I saw in Rachael Ray's magazine. It was very good with the tomato soup and some homemade coutons (cubes of bread fried in butter). I chose this recipe because it didn't call for a Velveeta-type cheese. I don't keep that on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This was a great soup!! I made a few changes. I added a tablespoon flour to the grated cheese, increased the cheese to 4 cups and did a sharp cheddar & medium cheddar mix. I also used half & half instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
okay not great kids did not like it at all, more of grow up taste, i really was not overwheled with it either. it just okay
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I followed the recipe to a T and I just wasn't that impressed. It was edible but way too many onions - I would call this recipe cheese and onion soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I just made this for my family and even my 4 year old son LOVED it. I did make a few changes right out of the gate though, like using half and half instead of milk. I used 4 cups of shredded mild cheddar cheese instead of 3. Added 2 teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce to the veggie mixture. Skipped the baking powder altogether. Also, I added 1/2 cup chopped celery ... mmmmm! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J VanDam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seymour, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I would give this 6 stars if I could. Don't pay any attention to Jiggy's review. This is by far the BEST cheese soup I have ever had. Thank you for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
It tasted like onions and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
If You Dont Like Processed Cheese 'Food' Try This!! I made it last night and it was really good and filling. Perfect base to add you favorite ingredients to. This is the only way I have ever been able to pull off Cheese soup. Considering the bizzare changes I made to accomidate what I had availible (broth and veggies) I was surprized that it came out perfect, without any clumps or weird consistency. I started out with precooked veggies, so I just added them to the roux and it was fine! This is easy and friendly as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ambrosia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ramona, California, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I LOVE cheese. This soup is so perfect, I could cry. I have been looking for a recipe that uses cheddar forever! This is a keeper. Great with bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States