Jumping Ginger Smoothie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Really liked this smoothie! My blender is not high-power or a juicer but it is nicer than your average $20 blender, and this blended very smooth for me without having to pre-blend or prepare the ingredients beforehand. The taste was just right for me and I didn't add any sugar or honey, but I know some people prefer a sweeter smoothie. All in all pretty fantastic and healthy to boot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This was actually a really good tasting drink! I'm not sure what it was about it, but it also had my dog following me around the house crying to have some haha! Perhaps it was the ginger root, I had never used it prior to making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
As long as I'm making healthy smoothies, I leave the peel on the apple and don't bother to core it. I didn't peel the carrot either! This was easy to make! The citrus really wakes up the taste buds! Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
This is delicious! The only change I made was using spinach instead of kale. Yum! Apple-wise, since it didn't say what type to use, I used a Braeburn, my favorite. The apple and lemon flavors are most prominent accompanied by the subtle creamy undertones of the avocado. Consistency-wise, this smoothie is slightly thicker than thin. If you like thicker smoothies, add the optional ice. I did not and it is going down smooth. Makes about 4.5 cups of smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I really love this! I added a little cilantro and used 3 kale leaves instead of one, did not add ice or flaxseed. Delicious and a keeper for my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brennie369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Commerce City, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
We didn't have avacado, so I didn't put any in. I added more ice cubes than it called for. I nuked the carrots for two minutes in water in the microwave (takes out some of the nutrients :( but makes them blend smoother), and I also added some honey and sugar because this was SUPER sour, but I really liked it! What I did: I put the lemon and water in first and blended, then added the kale, ice cubes, carrots, ginger, and parsley and blended again. Then added the apples and hit it again. MY blender sucks, so this was pretty "pulp-y" but definitely loved the taste. VERY refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I docked this one star only because I felt the tart lemon overpowered the other flavors too much. However, it is great nutrition so I will probably make this smoothie again with half a lemon next time. Also, in spite of distinctly remembering picking out some parsley at the store, I somehow didn't end up with it at home, so I threw in a little fresh mint instead. I am sure the parsley would be good, also, but I did like the mint enough to use it again. Something else I did was put in the avocado pit and leave the lemon peel on. I am sure we all know the great nutritional benefits of avocados and lemons, but did you know the avocado pit and the lemon peel actually are the parts of those fruits with the most nutrition? I know, it sounds crazy to put the pit in and I am not sure if I would have dared to try it in my Ninja Pro (maybe the new Ninja Ultima could do it) but my new Vitamix didn't miss a beat. My drink was smooth and creaamy. By the way, my dog begged for some, too, and to my surprise, liked it--although he did seem a little puzzled by the tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Rickey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
I like lemon but this was way too lemony for me. Next time I would put just the juice of 1/2 a lemon. Also would add more ice and/or make sure the water (I use filtered) was ice cold. Other than that, great smoothie with a lot of nutrients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Power Mojito Smoothie

See how to make an energy boosting smoothie.

Groovy Green Smoothie

Sneak some fresh greens into your kids with this tasty smoothie.

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States