Jumpin' Java Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Rather than add extra flour (yuck!) or refrigerate the batter like some other reviewers suggested, I just cut the butter down by about half. The batter was really sticky — more like bread dough — but it didn't run and the cookies didn't turn out especially cake-like. These really are drop cookies. I topped them with a simple frosting of confectioner's sugar and leftover coffee, to enhance the coffee flavor in the cookies. They weren't amazing, but they were good and they satisfied my coffee craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
The aren't great cookies, but they aren't bad cookies, they are just different cookies with a very different and muddled flavor. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rec_82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
These are awesome! I too used the extra flour and refrigerated it and didn't use the raisins. I personnaly like the soft, cake-like texture. I didn't even frost them. My fiancee went NUTS over them and can't wait for me to make them again. I plan to start collecting our morning coffee remnants and keep them in the fridge for future batches. Thanks so much for this fabulous recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Okay. So, here's the deal. I made these this morning after reading the reviews and thinking that I could do this with their suggestions in tow. I love coffee in just about anything and I couldn't let poor reviews deter me. I added a little vanilla in with the egg and used those tiny cups of coffee shots up to one cup to really concentrate the coffee flavor. After all the ingredients were combined, the dough was really liquid-y. I didn't add the raisins because I didn't have any, but I doubt that would change the thickness of the cookie dough. This was something that some of the other reviewers had issue with. So, I added another half cup of flour. I tried the dough and it was good, but could use a little firming. So, it's in the fridge for a couple hours. I'll update this once I've made them. I plan on frosting them either with a coffee icing or mocha icing. EDITED: These turned out really well. I thought when they puffed up while cooking that they would be one of those cakey kind of cookies. Not so. They fell when cooling and got pretty little crinkles on top. I frosted them with the Mocha Icing from this site, which was just the right icing for this particular cookie. I will make these again, with my adjustments. You really need the extra half cup of flour and the time in the fridge to firm. This does make a tasty cookie. EDITED AGAIN: My husband fell in love with these and wants to take a batch to work tomorrow. These were way better than I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
My cookies turned into mini-cakes! I wish I could give this a better rating as they turned out tasty even though they didn't have much of a coffee taste, but that's why I'm giving a lesser rating: It's supposed to be a coffee cookie, but lacks the coffee flavor. I decided to top these with coffee-flavored icing since they turned out like fat mini-cakes and my family really liked that. I'm going to play around with the recipe more. I think it needs 2-3 tablespoons of coffee liqueur. I also decided to use coconut instead of raisins, which turned out well. Also threw in some chocolate powder after reading the reviews and saw it didn't have much of a coffee flavor; might as well taste like chocolate! As a side, add cooled coffee instead of "piping hot" to keep the batter from liquifying. Then refrigerate at least an hour afterwards to help shape it. Anyway, I'll come back to this. :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faeli H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Angeles City, Pampanga, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I agree with other reviewers that 1) the batter was runny. I added a few more tablespoons of flour but they still spread quite a bit. And 2) that they didn't really taste like coffee. But because they had a cake-y texture they were perfect for sandwich cookies. So I made the mocha frosting from a brownie recipe on this site and made sandwiches. Probably won't make again because somewhat time consuming to get what you want. But together the flavors and textures were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
The cookies themselves are very good in flavor, everyone really likes them. My husband is a diabetic, so I used 1/2 brown sugar and 1/2 Splenda brown sugar (1 cup Splenda plus 1/4 cup of molasses or sugar free maple syrup=1 cup of brown sugar and I used the molasses). The dough was very soft, so I refrigerated it as another reviewer had suggested, I did it for a couple of days only because of time constraints and the dough was still OK. The cookies ended up roughly 2-inches in size and I had 96 cookies (with a size 70 cookie scoop) instead of the 36 the recipe said it would make. I'm thinking if you only made 36 cookies they would be Shrek size! If anyone has made these, could you please put in your review how many you made... just curious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2002
The ingredients are all so easy to find, nothing fancy. I thought these cookies were very easy to make and good to eat as well! I love cinnamon, brown sugar and coffee, and the combination (though perhaps not characterized by one strong flavor) tastes great. Also, because my oven broke the night I tried to make these, I discovered that this recipe makes EXCELLENT pancake batter. For those complaining about the cookie dough being too liquid, I suggest chilling it in the fridge for an afternoon or overnight--it is much easier to shape that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2000
This recipe did not work at all. The batter was soupy, so I had to turn it into a cake! It did not taste like coffee at all. I am very confused...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2000
I did not like these cookies. I could barely taste the coffee in them (yes I made really strong coffee too!) Since I depend on these rating for some of the recipes I use - I felt compelled to say I did not like these cookies. The kids ate them - but they will eat anything that is sweet, no discrimination! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States