Jumpin' Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
Well, they did jump in the pan...but they weren't very crunchy at all (actually, they had the consistency of a raw chick pea - and I cooked them much longer than it said). I might have been expecting too much - I think the term 'snack' led me to believe that they would be something you could make and then take for lunches or snacks...it's really an eat-it-hot sort of dish. It was okay for what it was - my boyfriend really liked them - but I think those chick peas would have been better used in hummus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Meh :-S Not really my bag, I should have tried making hummus like some other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Forbidden Fruit Cocktail

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prince Rupert, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This was good! Cooked for about 20 minutes to get them all crunchy. Used other seasonings and a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
the traditional way to make this is to deep fry well soaked but *not* cooked garbanzos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
The flavor was good but i could not get the chick peas crunchy. I cooked them alot longer then the recipe says but just ended up burning some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
it took for ever to cook and ended up burning. would have been better deep fried...but i don't deep fry anything. won't make a agian :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I agree with the previous review. However, I took the beans and used them to make hummus out of - it's pretty good! 1/3 cup tahini, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 1 teaspoon salt (although I would use a bit less, or none at all, the lemon pepper and creole seasoning adds enough salt), 2 gloves garlic (although, I might use less than this too). I also had to add some water, I think the cooked beans were harder to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I tried the Jumpin Chickpeas and they were delicious. Thanks for the recipe in my box
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
My chickpeas never actually jump (man was I disappointed the first time!), but the end result is always very tasty. I make this as a snack to take to work and it keeps well for a few days afterwards. My only suggestion to other is to coat the beans with olive oil prior to adding to the pan. It seems to help crunch them up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Chickpeas

Canned chickpeas are seasoned and roasted to a crispy, crunchy finish.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Crispy Mystery Semolina Noodles

See how to make crispy “french fries” from semolina noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States