Jumbo Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Amy, great one! I also would like to pass on my changes to this recipe. The best recipe and steps stay intack. * Replaced veg oil with olive oil * Used 1 tsp of grated ginger root * Replaced sherry with 1 1/2 cups dry white wine * Added 5 small shallots (chopped) * Added 4 garlic cloves (chopped) * Added 1 tsp red crushed pepper * Added 1/4 tsp cayanne * Added 1 tsp course blk pepper * Added 2 dried chili peppers 1. Cook aspargus as stated 2. heated oil as stated. add red crushed pepper, dried chili peppers, shallots, garlic, and cayanne. saute still garlic softens, 2 min. till garlic is soft. 3. Stir in soy sauce, ginger and sugar. Add wine, bring to simmer, add shrimp and saute as stated. 4. Stir in asparagus as stated and salt to taste. 5. I served this over 2 lbs of penne pasta. This a pasta lovers dish as there isn't alot sauce but enough to coat the pasta. so if you like tons of sauce this won't be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2003
WOWWIE! I've made this twice in the last two days and I'm still not sick of it! I made this into a main course meal by adding linguine noodles. What I did was boil the noodles and spears together, then I threw in all the ingredients in a skillet (minus the water since it dilutes the flavor). I also doubled the garlic, used low sodium soysauce and added red pepper flakes for a kick. Let it simmer for about 5-10 mins and you got yourself an asian inspired meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2002
very tasty...I used ground ginger (3 tsp) as a substitute for the fresh ginger root...the sauce tasted like a Chinese peanut sauce...will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This recipe was FABULOUS, but I did alter it just a bit: first, 2 cloves of garlic are a must, and adding a couple teaspoons or so of sesame oil with the vegetable oil adds great flavor. And finally, it makes a great dinner if on the side you cook a pot of Chinese noodles or udon noodles. Just add finished dish to the noodles! The family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This was a great start to what could become a stellar Asian dish! I agree with other reviewers, skip the added water, it only minimizes the flavor. We automatically added 2-3 cloves of garlic and 1 cup of mushrooms (YUM!). After taste-testing, would add 2 tsp. of hosin sauce & 1/2 tsp chili-garlic paste before serving. Those additions make this dish out-of-this-world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenj5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This was excellent. The ginger gives it just the right flavor. I made a simple linguini with butter and parm. cheese side dish to compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
As other viewers noted, it needed a bit of spice. But I gave it 3 stars because of the combination of flavors and a good foundation. The first time I made this I followed the recipe (except that I STEAMED the asparagus) The next time, I tweaked it quite a bit and it turned out great -- plus I like to make things easier. I added 1 Tbsp butter to the olive oil, added minced garlic, then the fresh asparagus, trimmed and cut (not pre-cooked), then took a shortcut and added 1/3c of Kikoman Roasted Garlic Teryaki sauce, threw in the shrimp & covered for a couple minutes until they turned pink. Sprinkled cornstarch right into the liquid in the pan for a sauce. Then making it even easier, popped in Uncle Ben's Roasted Garlic Wild Rice pouch in the microwave and Voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was good; I think next time I'll double the sauce ingredients and/or cook the asparagus in some chicken broth to see if it increases the flavor. Also, I'll probably add some garlic like another reviewer suggested, but it was very easy and tasty over jasmine rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This was okay and easy to make but didn't really wow. I used sesame oil instead of vegetable oil. I think it could have used some heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Like most, I changed the recipe slightly. I began with cooking 2 strips of turkey bacon until crisp. I removed the bacon and set aside. I added 2 TBS butter to the grease in the pan. Added 3 thinly sliced green onions and browned with the garlic. Then I put in about 1/2 c. chicken broth, juice from one lemon, a couple TBS of olive oil and followed the recipe after that. It was quick and easy to make. My family enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States