Jumbo Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This recipe was really easy and really, really tasty. The only things I did different was using ginger paste as my store did not have fresh ginger(paste available in the produce section and has s decent shelf life.) I also added some diced white onions. This was better than any shrimp dish I have had in a restaurant! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
Eh. It was just ok. I used steamed broccoli, and 2 tsp ginger powder instead of what was listed, but otherwise kept everything the same. A lot of ginger flavor but not much else. Maybe it needed to be thickened with cornstarch - maybe some sesame oil - maybe some garlic? Not sure - but needs a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I just made this dish, and must admit, it is REALLY good! I'm usually not a big fan of shrimp, but wow! It is very flavorful and a great accompaniment to a bowl of rice. I didn't want to count 24 shrimp, so I just used 1lb. and it came out just perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I omitted the sherry (since we didn't have any in the house) and it came out wonderful! I loved how the asparagus came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Nice recipe! I added fresh mushrooms and sliced red peppers and served this with whole wheat linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I stir-fried the asparagus (about 3 minutes) with a clove of minced garlic, rather than blanching it; then added the shrimp to the wok. I added a dash of dried crushed red pepper flakes for more bite, when adding the soy sauce, sherry and ginger. We had it with garlic bread, but it would also be good with rice to soak up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I am rating this recipe as it is written; I am sure there are things that could be done to make it more interesting. I did not cut the shrimp because I used large and not jumbo. My asparagus was thin, so I blanched it for about a minute and then added it to the shrimp toward the end of cooking. Even though I cut back on it, the ginger taste was too strong for us. Because we don't like chewy pieces of ginger,however, instead of chopping it I grated it, which I think may make the flavor stronger. Although I couldn't resist adding some garlic, the predominant taste was salty soy. I found out after we ate that I had inadvertently purchased soy sauce that was not low sodium, which we always use because we don't think that regular soy sauce has the flavor that the low salt does. I wouldn't make it again, but it might be perfect for those who love the taste of soy or for those who want to revamp it for their own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
So easy to make and very tasty! I served mine with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
well, i love asparagus and i eat it literaly every day. i found that the asparagus in this dish was overcooked according to my liking and the sherry gave this dish a not-so-lovely flavour. not my style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Amy, great one! I also would like to pass on my changes to this recipe. The best recipe and steps stay intack. * Replaced veg oil with olive oil * Used 1 tsp of grated ginger root * Replaced sherry with 1 1/2 cups dry white wine * Added 5 small shallots (chopped) * Added 4 garlic cloves (chopped) * Added 1 tsp red crushed pepper * Added 1/4 tsp cayanne * Added 1 tsp course blk pepper * Added 2 dried chili peppers 1. Cook aspargus as stated 2. heated oil as stated. add red crushed pepper, dried chili peppers, shallots, garlic, and cayanne. saute still garlic softens, 2 min. till garlic is soft. 3. Stir in soy sauce, ginger and sugar. Add wine, bring to simmer, add shrimp and saute as stated. 4. Stir in asparagus as stated and salt to taste. 5. I served this over 2 lbs of penne pasta. This a pasta lovers dish as there isn't alot sauce but enough to coat the pasta. so if you like tons of sauce this won't be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States