Jumbo Shrimp and Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
Nice recipe! I added fresh mushrooms and sliced red peppers and served this with whole wheat linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by healthnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I stir-fried the asparagus (about 3 minutes) with a clove of minced garlic, rather than blanching it; then added the shrimp to the wok. I added a dash of dried crushed red pepper flakes for more bite, when adding the soy sauce, sherry and ginger. We had it with garlic bread, but it would also be good with rice to soak up the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I am rating this recipe as it is written; I am sure there are things that could be done to make it more interesting. I did not cut the shrimp because I used large and not jumbo. My asparagus was thin, so I blanched it for about a minute and then added it to the shrimp toward the end of cooking. Even though I cut back on it, the ginger taste was too strong for us. Because we don't like chewy pieces of ginger,however, instead of chopping it I grated it, which I think may make the flavor stronger. Although I couldn't resist adding some garlic, the predominant taste was salty soy. I found out after we ate that I had inadvertently purchased soy sauce that was not low sodium, which we always use because we don't think that regular soy sauce has the flavor that the low salt does. I wouldn't make it again, but it might be perfect for those who love the taste of soy or for those who want to revamp it for their own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
So easy to make and very tasty! I served mine with noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
well, i love asparagus and i eat it literaly every day. i found that the asparagus in this dish was overcooked according to my liking and the sherry gave this dish a not-so-lovely flavour. not my style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Vinings, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Amy, great one! I also would like to pass on my changes to this recipe. The best recipe and steps stay intack. * Replaced veg oil with olive oil * Used 1 tsp of grated ginger root * Replaced sherry with 1 1/2 cups dry white wine * Added 5 small shallots (chopped) * Added 4 garlic cloves (chopped) * Added 1 tsp red crushed pepper * Added 1/4 tsp cayanne * Added 1 tsp course blk pepper * Added 2 dried chili peppers 1. Cook aspargus as stated 2. heated oil as stated. add red crushed pepper, dried chili peppers, shallots, garlic, and cayanne. saute still garlic softens, 2 min. till garlic is soft. 3. Stir in soy sauce, ginger and sugar. Add wine, bring to simmer, add shrimp and saute as stated. 4. Stir in asparagus as stated and salt to taste. 5. I served this over 2 lbs of penne pasta. This a pasta lovers dish as there isn't alot sauce but enough to coat the pasta. so if you like tons of sauce this won't be for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wildwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2005
I was worried about this, but it turned out great. My daughter didn't like this---I think that was because of the asparagus. I used ginger paste and it worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was good; I think next time I'll double the sauce ingredients and/or cook the asparagus in some chicken broth to see if it increases the flavor. Also, I'll probably add some garlic like another reviewer suggested, but it was very easy and tasty over jasmine rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
Well, with the odd ingredients we didn't know what to expect, but the flavor of this dish was surprisingly good. I didn't use fresh ginger, I used what I had on hand which was grated ginger/garlic paste. I cooked all in one skillet (I loathe using too many pots/pans). I served over pasta. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Very nice; I added some red pepper flakes for extra flavor. Has a nice fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States