Jumbo Shells Stuffed with Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This was an awsome way to use leftover turkey! Everyone loved it so much and it was not hard at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception of using Swiss cheese. It was ok, but to me was missing something. Not to mention that it does take a while to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made some changes to the recipe based on other reviews (adding some spinach, substituting and using milk instead of cream) and the filling turned out dry and crumbly while the sauce evaporated when it baked, making the creation of a sauce a useless expenditure of work. If I made the recipe again, I would add more ricotta to the filling and add less spinach and turkey. I would bake the shells in vodka marinara and just sprinkle the cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This was really good. The only thing I would change is the sauce. Maybe a red sauce would have more flavor. (My husband's suggestion!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Delightful! I had leftover chicken so I used that instead of turkey, I was drinking chardonnay as I cooked so I used that instead of sherry and I used a baby Swiss instead of the Gruyere. One reviewer said they added garlic and it wasn't very flavorful but with the right cheese and NO garlic, it is a warm, nutty, flavorful dish. (Garlic would totally overwhelm the subtler flavors.) Oh and sage would be a nice addition and you could substitute pine nuts for the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
I thought they were great. Such a nice change from the shells baked in spaghetti sauce. Sort of more elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeezaG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Just ok. We didn't save the leftovers. Not a lot of flavor. Looks like it should taste fabulous, but it just doesn't. I made exactly as written except added a bit of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Loved it! I made this for dinner and it so happened that a friend and her eleven year old daughter stopped by at the right time so they ate with us and truly loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
My sisters and I made this for a special birthday dinner. Although we were quite pleased, we'll do some minor tweaking next time (a little more cheese here, a wee bit less sherry there). Our unanimous complaint?This dish deserves a far more special sounding name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
I was pleased with this. It was fairly easy, you just need to pre-plan a little. I thought the filling was very tasty; the pecans were a great additon. I skipped the sherry and used a good swiss instead of the gruyere. I used milk instead of the whipping cream in a effort to scale down on the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Artichoke & Spinach Stuffed Shells

Watch Chef John refashion leftover party dip into an easy stuffed-pasta dish.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States