Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Really light and fluffy - great way to eat up windfall apples. Have made several times over the past months. I replaced the nuts with a generous 1/2 cup of raisins, and used a generous 2 cups of mixed eating/cooking apple varieties for a good flavor. Tried without the cinnamon crumble once, but they weren't half as yummy... however I do add a small handful of oats to the crumble topping now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cardiff, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I used this as a jumping off point. Reduced sugar to 1 c. 1 cup flour and 3/4 whole wheat. Used 4 apples, grated. Added in 1/4 c each of ground flax meal, wheat germ, and chia. 1 cup walnuts. Upped milk to 3/4. Sprinkled top with turbinado sugar instead. Ended up with a dozen using 4 oz scoop, plus one mini loaf. Mind, my additions/changes do not turn out a fluffy result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
great recipe. I used raw sugar instead of white and it tasted great. I also used salted butter and left out the salt. But it turned out great. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Moist and delicious. I used fresh pears instead of apples and the muffins were to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsjustgigi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
These muffins do not turn out well as the recipe is written. I followed the recipe exactly, and am a trained chef, and these ran all over my oven. 1. They taste pretty good, but look unappealing. 2. They come out flat, with no crown. 3. They are extremely sweet. 4. Maybe too much leavening?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
DELICIOUS :) very simple to make and results in fluffy moist muffins. ALSO it has the right amount of sweet taste. CHANGES: used 1 c. white sugar and 1/4 c. brown sugar. replaced walnuts with pecans used 1 tsp baking soda + 1/2 tsp white vinegar mixed with milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
So good! We found them pretty sweet, but with the sugar cut (I used just over half the original amount) and half the fat replaced with applesauce, they were pretty much perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
these are the best apple muffins I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by svenco4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stoneham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
A great recipe to start with. I would try adding a little nutmeg or something. If baking in normal size muffin pans or small ones, I found that they baked perfectly at 20 minutes at 375 degrees f. Depending on your oven you may need to cook a little longer. These were perfectly moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Verona, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Excellent muffin recipe! I would highly recommend this for fall baking and to anyone who loves apples! I doubled the amout of vanilla and added 1/4 tsp. of nutmeg. You could easily substitute raisins for the walnuts in this recipe which is really nice. For the topping I used brown sugar, 1 Tbsp. of flour and 2 Tbsp. of quick cooking oats. These baked up beautifully, but for some reason I got a bit more than 6 - oh well more to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States