Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I just made these and they turned out really well! I made 12 smaller muffins instead of 6 big ones. I baked them at 350 (instead of 375) for 25 minutes (instead of 30 minutes). I sprayed the muffin pan with cooking spray first and I had no problem with the muffins sticking to the pan. I made a few of my own revisions to the recipe. For the flour I used 1 cup of white and 3/4 cup of whole wheat. I cut back the amount of sugar slightly...instead of 1 1/4 cups of white sugar I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown. I used 4 teaspoons of baking powder instead of two because I like my muffins extra fluffy. I also omitted half the butter (I used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2) and added 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I doubled the amount of cinnamon (1 tsp instead of 1/2 teaspoon). I make muffins all the time for my husband to take to work and I will definitely be making these again since they were so moist and delicious! They haven't even completely cooled since taking them out of the oven and there's already four missing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My whole family raved of these muffins. I made a few changes simply because of what I had at the time. Instead of white flour, I used 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup old fashioned oats. I also substituted plain almond milk for the milk. And lastly, in the crumble topping I used 3 T brown sugar in place of the white sugar. Because, I do not have a jumbo muffin tin, I made 17 smaller muffins. The end result was a melt in your mouth delight. These muffins are moist on the inside yet slightly crunchy on the outside. There is no question that we will make them again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. Very moist and delicious. Perfect fit for my jumbo muffin pan. Six muffins exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Fantastic! I will make these again. I did switch some brown sugar for the white sugar and it worked out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Yummy! My hubby, 10 yr old and 8 yr old LOVE them. I made regular sized muffins, though, baked at 375 for about 23 minutes, that worked out perfectly. Next time I might cut down the sugar a bit. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Be careful not to put too much batter or topping in the muffin tins or they spread out the sides and are difficult to get out of the pan, even with paper liners. The taste, texture and moistness - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good! Even w/o topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
LOVE these muffins! They are a family favorite and I get requests for them every fall. I do change the recipe slightly by using half white and half brown sugar in the muffins and brown sugar in the topping, but that is just a personal preference. The only problem is how fast they disappear! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Made more than 6, made 11 but could have had 12. Crusty around the edges. Cooked at my regular degrees for my oven because 375 would have burned them black. Not sure if I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These are delicious. Rich, moist, and yummy. I made them exactly as the recipe instructed and admred the finished product of jumbo muffins. Then I looked at the calorie count. Over 600 calories per muffin. I will make them again but as regular size or even minis. I couldn't finish the jumbo anyway and a mini would have been perfect. I think smaller muffins would have come out of the pan more easily, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kkmarie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Apple Pie Muffins

Watch how to bake a batch of apple muffins for breakfast or dessert.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States