Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
Nice basic muffin. Prefer extra spice such as suggested with nutmeg. I like the reviewers suggestion of oatmeal in topping. Would have liked baking time suggestion for smaller muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
These are scrumptious, moist, light, flavoursome and oh so delicious. I used UK muffin cases and a 5cm ice-cream scoop and got a yield of 20. Baked at 160C (fan oven) for 20 minutes. Big hit with folks in my office. Substitutions/variations based on other reviews: Used 1cup white caster sugar and 1/4 cup dark brown sugar Spices: 2 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/2 teaspoon all spice Topping: used 2 tablespoons flour and 1 tablespoon rolled oats
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Tried this recipe today, as I had a taste for a great muffin with a cup of coffee. These did not disappoint. Used the exact ingredients called for in the exact proportion, except for the apples. I used a little more than two cups and I left them in nice chunks. The result was nice warm apple bites within the muffins. My husband bit into them and just sighed ..."wow, you can really cook!" Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This recipe is really great! It's really tasty and my kid loves it. I've adjusted the recipe a little though by cutting back the amount of the sugar to 25g and using brown instead of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Pretty good. The only changes I made were 1 cup sugar instead of 1.25, used slivered almonds instead of walnuts & adding some oats to the cinnamon crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I thought these were delicious! I used regular muffin tins, and at a 1/4 cup of batter per muffin, made 19 muffins. I also cubed the apples instead of slicing them, and used chopped pecans instead of walnuts (what I had on-hand). I just used my hands to mix the crumb topping :P so it worked up easily. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I just made these and they turned out really well! I made 12 smaller muffins instead of 6 big ones. I baked them at 350 (instead of 375) for 25 minutes (instead of 30 minutes). I sprayed the muffin pan with cooking spray first and I had no problem with the muffins sticking to the pan. I made a few of my own revisions to the recipe. For the flour I used 1 cup of white and 3/4 cup of whole wheat. I cut back the amount of sugar slightly...instead of 1 1/4 cups of white sugar I used 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown. I used 4 teaspoons of baking powder instead of two because I like my muffins extra fluffy. I also omitted half the butter (I used 1/4 cup instead of 1/2) and added 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I doubled the amount of cinnamon (1 tsp instead of 1/2 teaspoon). I make muffins all the time for my husband to take to work and I will definitely be making these again since they were so moist and delicious! They haven't even completely cooled since taking them out of the oven and there's already four missing. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
My whole family raved of these muffins. I made a few changes simply because of what I had at the time. Instead of white flour, I used 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup old fashioned oats. I also substituted plain almond milk for the milk. And lastly, in the crumble topping I used 3 T brown sugar in place of the white sugar. Because, I do not have a jumbo muffin tin, I made 17 smaller muffins. The end result was a melt in your mouth delight. These muffins are moist on the inside yet slightly crunchy on the outside. There is no question that we will make them again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a great recipe. Very moist and delicious. Perfect fit for my jumbo muffin pan. Six muffins exactly. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States