Jumbo Fluffy Walnut Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
These didn't rise as much as I expected, the tops were more flat than peaked, next time I may add a tsp more of baking powder to get a better rise. Despite the flat tops, they were quite yummy. My son and DIL thought they were the best muffins I have made, so five stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I baked these yesterday. Double all the ingredients and made 24 regular sized muffins. Baked at 375 degrees for 23 mins. I skipped the fancy crumble top and reduced 40% of the sugar (just me, I don't like them too sweet). Still came out soft and yummy. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I took some of the other reviewers suggestions. I like to make baked goods as healthy as I can. (I used 1 large Rome apple which equaled 1 cup DICED, not sliced apple) I changed the recipe as follows: 1/4 c.unsalted butter, 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce (actually I dumped in one of those small individual applesauce cups that comes in a 6-pk. package), 1/2 c. white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tsp. vanilla, 1 cup all-purpose flour, 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, 3 tsp. baking powder, & added 1 tsp. apple pie spice in addition to the 1/2 tsp. cinnamon listed in the orig. recipe. Since we love walnuts, I used 1 cup chopped walnuts. I noticed in the recipe that they added the salt in with the butter, sugar, etc. I instead added the salt in with the dry ingredients & then followed the orig. recipe directions. Baked them at 350 degrees for approx. 25 min. You do need a deep dish muffin tin. This recipe made 12 deep dish muffins. If you don't have a deep dish tin, then I would guess this recipe would make 24 regular muffins. They came out PERFECT! So moist & delicious! This is a keeper. I'll be making these for Thanksgiving & Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I followed the recipe, but didn't have jumbo muffin pan, so I used regular size (yield 12). No idea what happened, but they were soggy on the bottom, crispy on the edges & completely caved in in the middle. (One reviewer suggested that was from expired baking powder, but mine is brand new, so maybe from the butter in the topping?) The flavor was really good, though, so I scooped the muffins into a bowl, kinda smashed them all together & told my family it was apple cake crumble. :) I may try the recipe again in a loaf pan, just to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Made this a few weeks ago. Would definitely make again and again. Doubled the amount of vanilla, as well as the cinnamon, also added a handful of raisins. Also chopped the apples into small/fine pieces. This made 6 large muffins and 6 regular cup cake size ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Easy! Used all lt.brown sugar & a mix of whole wheat & oat flour; also used 1T of Greek Yogurt to milk to make the 1/2C. Used suggestion of adding 1/2 tsp Nutmeg. These turned out GREAT! Have lots of fresh picked apples, so will be making more batches to freeze for those cold winter mornings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I just tried this - they taste great - BUT - They basicly did not rise - they were not light and fluffy - they were very dense. I made them twice assuming I forgot something - but they were the same both times - What Happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Tried these muffins this morning and after looking at the ingredients thought there was to much sugar. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 of a cup and found that was plenty sweet. I omitted the streusel topping as well. It needs more cinnamon without the topping so next time I will increase the cinnamon to 1 tsp and maybe add 1/2 cup of applesauce for a little more moisture. Overall, the recipe is great just modified it to my personal taste. Rated it as a 4 because of the amount of sugar used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Battleford, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thexxxbee
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Really enjoyed this! I put hazelnuts instead of walnuts. Everybody liked them, thanx for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thexxxbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I loved this recipe but added 2 tablespoons chia seeds, and 2 tablespoons crushed flaxseed and substituted flour with gluten free, and butter with dairy-free spread! Also reduced the sugar. Best dairy and gluten free apples i have EVER tried, and my family agreed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 255) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States