Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I LOVE these cookies! Love the dark chocolate taste, love that they are delicate, rich and oh so chocolately. They remind me of a molten lava cake when fresh out of the oven. Slightly crisp on the outside and warm and gooey on the in. I pulled mine out when the tops started crackling up (about 13 minutes but I made my cookies a tad bit smaller than noted here. I got 24 palm sized baked cookies). They are soft and don't seem cooked enough but they will set up. Let sit on the cookie sheet a couple minutes before pulling them off to finish cooling on a rack. I don't feel they need more chips but I will add chopped walnuts to the next batch because I love a chocolate and walnut combination. If you follow the recipe as written you should enjoy these amazing wonderful cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My new FAVORITE! I followed this recipe exactly but I will say I hestitated a couple of times. I tasted the batter and it did taste too salty but not after it was baked. Also, I hesitated to make them with a quarter cup measure. I thought surely they would be too big. Wrong again. Perfect! I am a chocoholic and I loved these!! I am going to make these again and add peanut butter chips, and another batch with mint chips. They are a nice size cookie to wrap for a bake sale. This recipe is going to get a lot of use at my house. Thanks Nestle Toll House!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Dark Chocolate? How I heart thee. I didn't realize until too late that I used 1/3 cup for the baking cocoa. I used a bit less baking soda & no salt since I used salted butter. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
These cookies are great! They get a little crispy on the edges and chewy on the inside. I did add a few cherry chips to the batter for the color and because I wanted a few more chips in the batter (the new lighter package of chips wasn't quite enough for me). I liked these cookies more than the original recipe using dark chocolate chips. Thanks, Nestle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Dark chocolate is one of our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Fabulous cookie recipe. Even my non-dark chocolate lovers...loved it. The other reviewer was not nice about the salt. I used half the recipe and it was fine. I also made 42 smaller cookies instead of 12 which cut the serving calories down to 48 calories per cookies. Also needed to lessen the baking time to 13-14 minutes. Parchment paper? Why didn't I try this before. No more "stick to the pan" cookies and messy clean ups. My new favorite cookie for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These are really good. I am not normally a huge fan of dark chocolate, but they really good. They remind me of the brownies on the edges of the pan with a little crunch. Only with the cookies you get more of that crunch. Yum! Just a note, the batter is very stiff - this recipe only makes 12 but I wouldn't recommend doubling it. Just make two separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great recipe as is. I used unsalted butter (ALWAYS for baking). I also made them regular size. My only difficulty was in determining when exactly they were done due to the dark color and slightly different texture than regular chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made one change and that was using a whole bag of chocolate chips IN ADDITION to the 2/3 of a cup that was melted. I did not bake these in 1/4 cup mounds, I used my cookie dough scoop (overfilled, not level) to make level smaller cookies. Even though they were smaller, the flavor was not lost in any way. We absolutely loved these cookies, especially right out of the oven. Out of the whole batch, only a handful remain. NOTE: If you make them smaller as I did, I did bake mine at 350* for ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Loved these cookies. But I wish there had been more chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States