Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I made one change and that was using a whole bag of chocolate chips IN ADDITION to the 2/3 of a cup that was melted. I did not bake these in 1/4 cup mounds, I used my cookie dough scoop (overfilled, not level) to make level smaller cookies. Even though they were smaller, the flavor was not lost in any way. We absolutely loved these cookies, especially right out of the oven. Out of the whole batch, only a handful remain. NOTE: If you make them smaller as I did, I did bake mine at 350* for ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My new FAVORITE! I followed this recipe exactly but I will say I hestitated a couple of times. I tasted the batter and it did taste too salty but not after it was baked. Also, I hesitated to make them with a quarter cup measure. I thought surely they would be too big. Wrong again. Perfect! I am a chocoholic and I loved these!! I am going to make these again and add peanut butter chips, and another batch with mint chips. They are a nice size cookie to wrap for a bake sale. This recipe is going to get a lot of use at my house. Thanks Nestle Toll House!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Jillian
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Chocolate Heaven - I just couldn't think of two better words to describe these cookies! They're so chocolately and so chewy these are sure to be a favorite. These cookies stay soft for days - that is if they last that long! This recipe is perfect so if you're new to making cookies follow this recipe exactly and you'll come out with perfect cookies that taste incredible. I let the dough chill for a bit in the fridge and baked them on parchment paper. Be sure to have plenty of milk on hand 'cause your gonna need it for these chocolate treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I LOVE these cookies! Love the dark chocolate taste, love that they are delicate, rich and oh so chocolately. They remind me of a molten lava cake when fresh out of the oven. Slightly crisp on the outside and warm and gooey on the in. I pulled mine out when the tops started crackling up (about 13 minutes but I made my cookies a tad bit smaller than noted here. I got 24 palm sized baked cookies). They are soft and don't seem cooked enough but they will set up. Let sit on the cookie sheet a couple minutes before pulling them off to finish cooling on a rack. I don't feel they need more chips but I will add chopped walnuts to the next batch because I love a chocolate and walnut combination. If you follow the recipe as written you should enjoy these amazing wonderful cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious! The only thing preventing this from getting 4 stars is that there were not enough chips. I tossed in some cinnamon chips so this had a mexican chocolate taste. I also cut back on the salt to 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Very yummy cookie! I used unsalted butter over saltiness concerns expressed in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Celeste
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This cookie turned out great! I made them as stated and they were very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
They were good but a little too cakey and not enough chips. I will add butter, bake less and add more chips next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These are really good. I am not normally a huge fan of dark chocolate, but they really good. They remind me of the brownies on the edges of the pan with a little crunch. Only with the cookies you get more of that crunch. Yum! Just a note, the batter is very stiff - this recipe only makes 12 but I wouldn't recommend doubling it. Just make two separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
WWWhay too salty. suggest unsalted butter and no added salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States