Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
WWWhay too salty. suggest unsalted butter and no added salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
These were pretty good. I left out the salt since I used margarine. I loooove dark chocolate and these fit the bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
Fabulous cookie recipe. Even my non-dark chocolate lovers...loved it. The other reviewer was not nice about the salt. I used half the recipe and it was fine. I also made 42 smaller cookies instead of 12 which cut the serving calories down to 48 calories per cookies. Also needed to lessen the baking time to 13-14 minutes. Parchment paper? Why didn't I try this before. No more "stick to the pan" cookies and messy clean ups. My new favorite cookie for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I took the advice of another review and skipped the salt. I used dark brown sugar, and I didn't pack it in since I didn't want it to be too sweet. I baked them for 16 minutes, but I think they needed to be in there for about 18 minutes. My cookies were starting to fall apart when I was tasting one of them. They were fairly easy to make. I love dark chocolate and these had a that rich dark chocolatey taste! They were also a little cake like which I didn't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq624

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Good, but I think they need more chocolate chips especially for presentation. This is the second year I've made these for Holiday cookie platters, this year not jumbo size, and they don't look anything like that delicious Nestle cookie photo. Maybe sprinkle the top with a few morsels before they go into the oven?? I'll try that the next time or perhaps use 3/4 cup of chips. Rich, decadent chocolate cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very good cookie. I love double chocolate cookies. I couldn't find the dark chocolate chips, so I used semi-sweet. These have a nice texture, light and crispy, yet still a little chewy. I wanted to make them more festive for the holidays, so I added 1/2 tsp. peppermint extract and about 10 peppermint candies, crushed. I saved the pretty pieces of peppermint to press onto the top of the cookies after they came out of the oven. It added a nice little crunch. No complaints here about being too salty - I used unsalted butter and 1/2 tsp. salt and they are fine. ***Update: I first reviewed this recipe when they were right out of the oven. I really liked them then. But now it's a couple days later and they are really dry and crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These are really good. I am not normally a huge fan of dark chocolate, but they really good. They remind me of the brownies on the edges of the pan with a little crunch. Only with the cookies you get more of that crunch. Yum! Just a note, the batter is very stiff - this recipe only makes 12 but I wouldn't recommend doubling it. Just make two separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm kind of a cookie snob and these cookies were good but not great. I didn't care for the texture. Right from the oven they are soft but after cooling they had a dry texture. I do however love the Nestle Dark Chocolate Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were good, but not the best cookie I've ever had. They were easy enough to make, but I didn't like how much they spread out (I like a thicker, softer cookie), but if you like your cookies on the flatter, crisper side, then you will enjoy these. They had a nice flavor though, and I can definitely say that I am LOVING the Dark Chocolate Morsels (I used the whole bag)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious! The only thing preventing this from getting 4 stars is that there were not enough chips. I tossed in some cinnamon chips so this had a mexican chocolate taste. I also cut back on the salt to 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States