Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I LOVE these cookies! Love the dark chocolate taste, love that they are delicate, rich and oh so chocolately. They remind me of a molten lava cake when fresh out of the oven. Slightly crisp on the outside and warm and gooey on the in. I pulled mine out when the tops started crackling up (about 13 minutes but I made my cookies a tad bit smaller than noted here. I got 24 palm sized baked cookies). They are soft and don't seem cooked enough but they will set up. Let sit on the cookie sheet a couple minutes before pulling them off to finish cooling on a rack. I don't feel they need more chips but I will add chopped walnuts to the next batch because I love a chocolate and walnut combination. If you follow the recipe as written you should enjoy these amazing wonderful cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I wanted to love these. They baked up so thin and greasy. So I added extra flour, extra baking soda, and chilled the dough. Still no improvement. They are crumbly and fall apart. I also tried chilling the dough overnight and that was no help either. I will stick with Carol P's Ultimate Double Chocolate Cookies, just stir some chips into the batter and voila! UPDATE: I made these again this year for the Allstars Activity but I got some help from my culinary instructor at the college (thanks Chef Petti!)...added a few extra T of flour, used baking powder instead of soda, chilled the dough, and made them a smaller size. They came out MUCH better, but I still prefer the Ultimate Double Chocolate Cookies with morsels stirred in - I think it's the coffee powder that enriches the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Photo by Life Tastes Good
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
These are very chocolaty and yummy! My only issue I have with this recipe is the dark chocolate chips were no where to be found in my area. I used the semi-sweet chips and they were plenty chocolaty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Great recipe as is. I used unsalted butter (ALWAYS for baking). I also made them regular size. My only difficulty was in determining when exactly they were done due to the dark color and slightly different texture than regular chocolate chip cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valorie
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Really enjoyed making and eating these wonderful cookies. I used unsalted butter and the salt amount was just right. My husband was really happy that I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valorie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
My new FAVORITE! I followed this recipe exactly but I will say I hestitated a couple of times. I tasted the batter and it did taste too salty but not after it was baked. Also, I hesitated to make them with a quarter cup measure. I thought surely they would be too big. Wrong again. Perfect! I am a chocoholic and I loved these!! I am going to make these again and add peanut butter chips, and another batch with mint chips. They are a nice size cookie to wrap for a bake sale. This recipe is going to get a lot of use at my house. Thanks Nestle Toll House!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Delicious! The only thing preventing this from getting 4 stars is that there were not enough chips. I tossed in some cinnamon chips so this had a mexican chocolate taste. I also cut back on the salt to 1/2 t.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
These were good, but not the best cookie I've ever had. They were easy enough to make, but I didn't like how much they spread out (I like a thicker, softer cookie), but if you like your cookies on the flatter, crisper side, then you will enjoy these. They had a nice flavor though, and I can definitely say that I am LOVING the Dark Chocolate Morsels (I used the whole bag)! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'm kind of a cookie snob and these cookies were good but not great. I didn't care for the texture. Right from the oven they are soft but after cooling they had a dry texture. I do however love the Nestle Dark Chocolate Chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
These are really good. I am not normally a huge fan of dark chocolate, but they really good. They remind me of the brownies on the edges of the pan with a little crunch. Only with the cookies you get more of that crunch. Yum! Just a note, the batter is very stiff - this recipe only makes 12 but I wouldn't recommend doubling it. Just make two separate batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States