Jumbo Breakfast Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
I made some substitutions. Half white and brown sugar, home ground whole wheat flour, walnuts, dark chocolate grain sweetened chips and a combination of rice cereal, crushed corn flakes and bunches of oats besides the oatmeal and then wondered if they would stick together long enough to get them on the baking sheet. I used an ice cream scoop measuring 1/3 cup and then wet my fingers and shaped the cookies, to my surprise they did not need the four inches between because they didn't spread that much baking so I only left two inches between and got nine cookies on my sheet. I followed instructions and allowed them the full five minutes to cool on sheet and never had them fall apart on me. They are slightly moist and chewy cookies and everyone has liked them so far. I will make these again using different cereals and extras.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Half of the recipe was better for our family of four. We used rice krispies as the add in cereal so these would be more aptly named Peanut Butter Krispies. Definitely pairs well with a cold glass of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
i have to admit, i had my doubts about this cookie. i love cereal and i love cookies, but mixing them together didn't sound that great. However, these cookies are AWESOME. They are breakfast cookies! Not like a cookie, not like a bowl of cereal, not even like a granola bar: these cookies belong in a category all their own. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Easy to make..hubs liked them but one kid spit hers out. the cereal give it a weird chunky texture. not sure I will make again but keeping the recipe just in case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I substituted 1 C. of greek yogurt for the butter, and used brown sugar instead - cutting it in half to 1 C. I only had 4 cups of Cheerios so I threw in some granola, chopped pecans, chocolate chips, sunflower seeds, and ground flax meal. REALLY important to take them out of the oven as they just turn brown and let them sit a while longer on the cookie sheet. True, like one other commenter said, they have about the same calorie count as a donut BUT you can stuff a lot of healthy ingredients inside. Nice for a breakfast on the run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueiii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
These are excellent breakfast cookies! I followed the recipe but used almond butter instead of peanut butter and dried currants instead of raisins. they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
I made this recipe without raisins, but no other changes. When the cookies were hot, right out of the oven, they were ok. But, after they cooled, they crumbled and fell apart. That's fine for at home, but not good for travel. We took these on a camping trip and tried them for breakfast on the morning after I made them. My kids did not like them. The cheerios had become hard to chew and the cookie tasted stale. I am disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
update. The first batch was good but due to my daughter I made an updated batch the next evening using::: peterpan honey peanut butter (it was on sale cheaper than the store brand) store brand honey nut "cheerio's" about half a small bag of choc. chips I think that will be my new standard recipie....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
These were excellant. Instead of butter I used 3/4 cup olive oil, yes, olive oil, and they came out perfect. I shared them with several of my workmates and everyone raved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Will absolutely make this again. The only thing I did different was replace half of the amount of butter with applesauce. Also would make the cookies smaller and 2 to a serving as they would be much easier to handle and we liked the crunchy edges alot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States