Julie's Famous Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by spiritedcharm
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is my recipe and there is a mistake in the instructions. When I submitted it for kitchen approval, the instructions in step 3 said to melt 1 1/2 sticks of butter (3/4 C) and they changed it to 1 1/2 cups - yikes! That's DOUBLE what I use for the sauce. I don't know who to contact to correct the mistake they made when they changed my instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
WOW. This recipe is wonderfully rich and delicious! I halfed it and it worked perfectly in our small oval casserole dish. We will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ry's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is the first mac and cheese I have ever made! It calls for a lot of ingredients and is not very cheap to make....It had great flavor and the consistency was great! The next time I make it though, I will use all sharp cheddar and omit the Colby Jack. I think the sharp cheddar will give it more of a "kick"! Definitely worth keeping in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ry's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Had to cut back on portions because this definitely makes enough for a crowd. Tastes the way macaroni and cheese should taste - creamy, tangy and just the right consistency. Thanks.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Huge hit with the kids at Thanksgiving, many of whom are picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'm Julie's aunt and I agree this is the best Mac and Cheese our family has ever tasted. It's a requirement for dinners we all enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I cut this recipe down to eight servings. It may look like I butchered this recipe but I did my best to make something my family loves while using less calorie-laden ingredients. I did not add the salt called for. I added in four cloves of fresh minced garlic when I sauteed the onion. I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, fat free evaporated milk, 2% shredded sharp cheddar and fat free cottage cheese. I did cut the recipe in half but I kept the shredded cheeses at the same amounts. I made my own croutons out of four small pieces of day old wheat bread and only a couple tablespoons of butter with garlic and onion powder stirred in before I spread it over the bread and "toasted" it in the oven to make croutons. I didn't use the whole amount of "croutons", I just crumbled it over the top until there was a slight dusting over the whole baking dish full. My family liked this but they'll eat almost any macaroni and cheese. This is a really rich-tasting macaroni and cheese, even using lighter ingredients. Using the processed cheese gave it a nice.....extra creamy mouth feel. NOTE: I would not recommend adding the full amount of flour. I thought that I might have an issue with it coming out too dry if I didn't cut back and I'm glad I did. Three tablespoons is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is rich but pretty tasty. It definitely benefits from caramelizing the onions in the butter. Not having any croutons on hand, I used crushed saltines with butter for the topping. I reduced the recipe by half and, depending on the number of servings I need next time, I may even reduce it to a quarter, although the leftovers seemed to taste even better; heated in the microwave and then run under the boiler to crisp the topping. I'll add this to my rotation of mac and cheese recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm sorry but it did not wow me. I halfed the recipe(per the calculator), maybe that's why- but waay too creamy cheesy curdy for me. I am looking for what Grandma used to make with chewy buttery mac with cheesy cheddary chunks. It is as others described very rich compared to boxed mac n cheese. Not our bag of tea. UPDATE- If you pour Tomato Bisque over it. It tastes like a grown up version of Spaghetto-O's. I was a big fan as a child and we didn't have to throw out leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Nice change for a macaroni dish. Interesting flavor. Next will omit the onion and use the sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States