Julie's Famous Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by spiritedcharm
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is my recipe and there is a mistake in the instructions. When I submitted it for kitchen approval, the instructions in step 3 said to melt 1 1/2 sticks of butter (3/4 C) and they changed it to 1 1/2 cups - yikes! That's DOUBLE what I use for the sauce. I don't know who to contact to correct the mistake they made when they changed my instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Had to cut back on portions because this definitely makes enough for a crowd. Tastes the way macaroni and cheese should taste - creamy, tangy and just the right consistency. Thanks.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
WOW. This recipe is wonderfully rich and delicious! I halfed it and it worked perfectly in our small oval casserole dish. We will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This is rich but pretty tasty. It definitely benefits from caramelizing the onions in the butter. Not having any croutons on hand, I used crushed saltines with butter for the topping. I reduced the recipe by half and, depending on the number of servings I need next time, I may even reduce it to a quarter, although the leftovers seemed to taste even better; heated in the microwave and then run under the boiler to crisp the topping. I'll add this to my rotation of mac and cheese recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm sorry but it did not wow me. I halfed the recipe(per the calculator), maybe that's why- but waay too creamy cheesy curdy for me. I am looking for what Grandma used to make with chewy buttery mac with cheesy cheddary chunks. It is as others described very rich compared to boxed mac n cheese. Not our bag of tea. UPDATE- If you pour Tomato Bisque over it. It tastes like a grown up version of Spaghetto-O's. I was a big fan as a child and we didn't have to throw out leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ry's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is the first mac and cheese I have ever made! It calls for a lot of ingredients and is not very cheap to make....It had great flavor and the consistency was great! The next time I make it though, I will use all sharp cheddar and omit the Colby Jack. I think the sharp cheddar will give it more of a "kick"! Definitely worth keeping in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ry's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I'm Julie's aunt and I agree this is the best Mac and Cheese our family has ever tasted. It's a requirement for dinners we all enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Sorry, but I did not enjoy at all, I myself make great mac-cheese but wanted to just try something new. Was definitely to rich and so bland will not be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I cut this recipe down to eight servings. It may look like I butchered this recipe but I did my best to make something my family loves while using less calorie-laden ingredients. I did not add the salt called for. I added in four cloves of fresh minced garlic when I sauteed the onion. I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, fat free evaporated milk, 2% shredded sharp cheddar and fat free cottage cheese. I did cut the recipe in half but I kept the shredded cheeses at the same amounts. I made my own croutons out of four small pieces of day old wheat bread and only a couple tablespoons of butter with garlic and onion powder stirred in before I spread it over the bread and "toasted" it in the oven to make croutons. I didn't use the whole amount of "croutons", I just crumbled it over the top until there was a slight dusting over the whole baking dish full. My family liked this but they'll eat almost any macaroni and cheese. This is a really rich-tasting macaroni and cheese, even using lighter ingredients. Using the processed cheese gave it a nice.....extra creamy mouth feel. NOTE: I would not recommend adding the full amount of flour. I thought that I might have an issue with it coming out too dry if I didn't cut back and I'm glad I did. Three tablespoons is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe tasted just okay for me. I have made it twice and each time it has made way too much sauce for one package of macaroni. I used only about half of the sauce each time because it makes so much. The flavor is just okay and I agree with other reviews that it is very very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States