Julie's Famous Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This recipe tasted just okay for me. I have made it twice and each time it has made way too much sauce for one package of macaroni. I used only about half of the sauce each time because it makes so much. The flavor is just okay and I agree with other reviews that it is very very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Ohio, USA
Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Sorry, but I did not enjoy at all, I myself make great mac-cheese but wanted to just try something new. Was definitely to rich and so bland will not be makeing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Huge hit with the kids at Thanksgiving, many of whom are picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I'm sorry but it did not wow me. I halfed the recipe(per the calculator), maybe that's why- but waay too creamy cheesy curdy for me. I am looking for what Grandma used to make with chewy buttery mac with cheesy cheddary chunks. It is as others described very rich compared to boxed mac n cheese. Not our bag of tea. UPDATE- If you pour Tomato Bisque over it. It tastes like a grown up version of Spaghetto-O's. I was a big fan as a child and we didn't have to throw out leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Nice change for a macaroni dish. Interesting flavor. Next will omit the onion and use the sharp cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I cut this recipe down to eight servings. It may look like I butchered this recipe but I did my best to make something my family loves while using less calorie-laden ingredients. I did not add the salt called for. I added in four cloves of fresh minced garlic when I sauteed the onion. I used whole wheat elbow macaroni, fat free evaporated milk, 2% shredded sharp cheddar and fat free cottage cheese. I did cut the recipe in half but I kept the shredded cheeses at the same amounts. I made my own croutons out of four small pieces of day old wheat bread and only a couple tablespoons of butter with garlic and onion powder stirred in before I spread it over the bread and "toasted" it in the oven to make croutons. I didn't use the whole amount of "croutons", I just crumbled it over the top until there was a slight dusting over the whole baking dish full. My family liked this but they'll eat almost any macaroni and cheese. This is a really rich-tasting macaroni and cheese, even using lighter ingredients. Using the processed cheese gave it a nice.....extra creamy mouth feel. NOTE: I would not recommend adding the full amount of flour. I thought that I might have an issue with it coming out too dry if I didn't cut back and I'm glad I did. Three tablespoons is plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Smelled heavenly but it was too sharp for my taste. Also I prefer a creamier Mac & Cheese. Mine was a little dry. Makes a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JimmyS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ry's Mommy
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This is the first mac and cheese I have ever made! It calls for a lot of ingredients and is not very cheap to make....It had great flavor and the consistency was great! The next time I make it though, I will use all sharp cheddar and omit the Colby Jack. I think the sharp cheddar will give it more of a "kick"! Definitely worth keeping in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ry's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
WOW. This recipe is wonderfully rich and delicious! I halfed it and it worked perfectly in our small oval casserole dish. We will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by spiritedcharm
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This is my recipe and there is a mistake in the instructions. When I submitted it for kitchen approval, the instructions in step 3 said to melt 1 1/2 sticks of butter (3/4 C) and they changed it to 1 1/2 cups - yikes! That's DOUBLE what I use for the sauce. I don't know who to contact to correct the mistake they made when they changed my instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Home-Style Macaroni and Cheese

The secret ingredient in this mac and cheese is cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States