Julia's Hot Cross Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
I brought these to a morning meeting and got universal raves. Better than any I've had. I will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
My 4 year old nephew ate 3 of these on Good Friday afternoon with coffee. He said to make them again, "a lot". Very easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
These Hot Cross Buns are absolutely wonderful. We will most likely enjoy them year round instead of just at Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2001
great recipe----if you need paper weights. Very disappointing- tasted better and the best hot cross to make is that not made in a bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalisa

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2001
The buns were very good and easy to make. It was nice to try and have during Easter time. Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
I think a big part of this tradition is to cut crosses into the buns with floured scissors or sharp knife just before egg-washing them. Then you can spoon the icing into the grooved crosses after they come out of the oven. Also, I think they are supposed to be served hot. (I didn't think the icing in this recipe tasted good.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2003
These buns had the *best* flavor of any hot cross buns I've ever tasted. The grated orange peel and other spices went very well together and the flavor was excellent. I used dried cranberries (a.k.a. "Craisins" from Ocean Spray) in place of raisins and that worked very well, too. My only word of caution to other readers about this recipe is that all bread machines are different, and what works in one might not work so well in another. In my machine, these buns, although most definitely edible, did not rise enough, making the bread very dense. If you prefer your buns to me more "fluffy," I would suggest adding an entire 2 oz. packet of yeast, or perhaps try the special "Very Active Dry Yeast" that's made just for bread machines. All in all, my Easter guests enjoyed these buns, and I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Our new family favorite. We don't buy the store brands any more. Yummy, yummy, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
We love this recipe! I have made it for the past two years at Easter. My husband grew up having these but they were store bought and not very tasty...these impressed him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ozfiz
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
Very good. I added about 1/4 more sugar to the batter. To make them more traditional, I made a soft paste with equal parts flour and water, and piped it in crosses before baking the buns. This is the traditional way to make the crosses instead of the icing sugar! Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Cross Buns I

See how to make classic Easter yeast buns with your bread machine.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States