Julia's Easy Slow Cooker Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This is an "almost excellent" recipe! With just a few minor modifications, it makes an excellent family meal; my husband loved it and my kids (who are very picky eaters) ate it up! I recommend using four boneless chicken breast halves instead of eight, roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup instead of the regular variety, and water instead of milk. Also, I cooked this meal in the crock pot on HIGH for five (5) hours (instead of on low for twice that time) - the chicken was moist and the potatoes were soft with just the right amount of sauce (or gravy). It actually exceeded my expectatons and turned out to be a very flavorful and filling meal! No leftovers! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
382 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
My husband and teenagers are picky eaters but loved this recipe because it has their favorites: Chicken and gravy. This is quick and easy to put together, has large inexpensive portions that are not laden with fat. These are my recommendations/changes: 6 split chicken breast, meat carefully removed from bone. Rinse, pat dry. 7 med red potatoes, scrubbed, skin on & cubed (no larger than ¾”) 2 (10.75 oz) cans Campbell’s healthy choice (low fat/sodium) cream of mushroom soup. 1 soup can water (filtered if you have it) 3 heaping tablespoons of the packaged dry onion mix 2 cups fresh green beans (tips removed, beans cut in half) 2 cups baby carrots Tarragon and garlic powder - divided, sea salt, fresh ground pepper and paprika Layered ingredients starting with green beans, potatoes, carrots. Sprinkle over veggies: 1/8 teaspoon Tarragon, pinch of garlic powder, light on the salt & pepper. Lay chicken pieces over veggies making sure thickest part of chicken points towards crock-pot wall. Mix together the 2 cans of soup, 1 can water, 3 tablespoons of dry onion soup, 1/8 tarragon & 1/8 garlic powder. Salt and pepper to taste. Pour sauce over chicken & vegetables. Sprinkle lightly with paprika. Cook for 5 hours on high making sure after 4 1/2 hrs chicken isn’t already done. If it is, remove meat and cover to keep warm while veggies continue to cook until tender. Sorry about the detail – teaching teenagers to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I replaced the cream of mushroom soup with cream of chicken soup (we don't like mushrooms), replaced the milk with 1/2 cup of water, and omitted the cornstarch because I didn't have any on hand. The result was fantastic!! My fiancee had two helpings and raved about this meal for hours!! Thanks, Sarah :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I use the cream of mushroom soup and onion soup mix to make a wonderful eye round roast in the crockpot - I never add any additional liquid to it or cornstarch and the gravy comes out perfect - lots of compliments, so that's how I made this dish and it also came out perfect. So, for everyone who finds this recipe bland, omit the milk and cornstarch - it makes all the difference. If you do want the gravy a little thinner then add no more than 1/4 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
I made this for dinner and my husband coundn't say enough about how delicious it was, and my VERY fussy girls' backed him right up. I think there was too much chicken for 4 people and I would use 4 halves instead of 8 next time to make the ratio of chicken to potatoes more even. Instead of the milk (I used condensed) you could use 2 cans of soup for a thicker sauce but I just added 4 Tbsp. of flour to 4 Tbsp. of melted butter and cooked stirring constantly for a minute until bubbly. I added to the sauce for the last hour as well as some salt, pepper and sprinkled a layer of nutmeg on the top. It tasted great and was plenty thick enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
This was really great! I made some modifications as others suggested - browned chicken in a skillet with garlic, paprika, salt, pepper, and oregano. I also added these same spices to the sauce. I used 2 cans cream of chicken and a combination of chicken broth, water, and milk instead of the canned milk. I used 4 large chicken breasts and added carrots, diced onion and fresh mushrooms. It cooked in 2 1/2 hours on high. It was kind of soupy so I cut up the chicken and it was a wonderful stew that was good alone and over quick drop biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
We used a bit of advice from other reviews - Cream of chicken soup, water instead of milk - and it turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
What a great idea! I took this base recipe and, like other reviewers, added my own touches. I made it into more of a stew almost, by adding a sliced onion, 2 carrots cut up, 2 stalks of celery, and some garlic. To the soup sauce I added basil, old bay, herbs de provence, pepper, and extra can of soup, and about 3/4 c chunked velveeta. I used only 1 1/2 cans milk, and doubled the cornstarch. After 3 hrs on low the veggies were still hard, so i cranked it up to high and cooked 2 hrs more. The bf raved and requested it again SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Great and easy recipe! I made the mistake of using pre-seasoned chicken, so it was a bit salty - but that was my fault! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This is a good base recipe. I added veggies and spices (Herb d'prov. and fine herbs) as well as garlic. I substituted Mushroom soup for Chicken condensed. I also used frozen chicken breasts from M&M meats and they turned out soooo tender! mmmmm. I turned it on low at 7am and ate at 5 pm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Baked Slow Cooker Chicken

See how to make juicy “baked” chicken in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States