Julian's Festive Tuna Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I loved the idea of this and served it on a bed of lettuce as a dinner salad, but in the end the flavor just didn't deliver. It needs something to make it brighter and give it some pop
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My kids, who dislike tuna sandwiches usually, said they loved this and asked that I make it this way in the future, adding hard boiled egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stepperanddaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is so quick and delicious! I use green onions, toasted cumin, substitute dried parsley for cilantro, and drizzle with garlic olive oil (I usually use tuna packed in water). So fresh, flavorful, and crunchy! I don't ever seem have salsa verde or green chiles around, but a scrape of frozen pureed chipotles does the trick for even more flavor. Also, I rinse the beans. Mayonnaise seems redundant, but I use a little anyway and it adds creaminess without being too heavy. Thanks for a great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Fits Althea criterea: fast, healthy, economical and my teenage son loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Loved it.. great way to add more protein with the black beans! I always add a splash of lemon juice, Tabasco, and Worcestershire sauce to my tuna salad, and threw in some diced jalapeños for some kick. was also worried about the cumin but it was perfect! stuffed the mix in a pita and baked with a slice of provolone.. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
My personal trainer is trying to get me to eat tuna without mayonnaise. This is a great way to do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Loved this! I made it with smoked tuna and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Yum!!! I was scanning through allrecipes, wondering if anyone had ever combined black beans and tuna, and I came across this recipe. It's great! I usually try to follow recipes to the letter when I'm trying them for the first time, but I had to make a few changes to use what I had on hand. I only used 2 pouches (2.6oz) of albacore white tuna, a few thin slices of red onion, 1/3 of a green bell pepper, and a little bit of miracle whip in leiu of the mayo. I also went light on the cumin and used a few spoonfuls of Rotel instead of salsa verde. I do wish that I had cilantro, but it is really tasty without it too! I will definitely make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Wow! Who knew tuna would be so good with a Mexican twist!The true key to this recipe is to let it sit for a few hours in the fridge before digging in - the extra time helps the spice come out! I used hot salsa instead of salsa verde since our family loves spicy stuff, and I found this to be excellent in a whole wheat tortilla or on top of greens for a fun salad. I, like others, also used tuna in water not oil, and really enjoyed the taste and lack of oiliness in the salad (I don't see why they'd want it in olive oil, tell you the truth). Will definitely make again, maybe for a party as it made a great dip with tortilla chips or Wheat Thins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
WOW! I loved this. I used water packed tuna instead of olive oil packed to cut down on fat. I eye balled the cumin. (probably ended up being the same as in the recipe, I was sceptical, but don't skip this!! It makes the salad!) I did not have green chiles or fresh cilantro, but I had a large jar of HOT salsa, and added some of that. Love all the ingredients! SO healthy. I just added about 1-2 TBS of olive oil Mayo, and that smoothed it out, rather cut the heat a bit. I like it with and without the mayo. I had to add more salsa and cumin after I added the mayo. (I like it with a kick) The cumin really changes this and adds an awesome taste to this. My new Fav power lunch. I used lots of yellow, green, red and orange pepper. (I had all of that on hand) I had to let you know how great this is! I used to just mix a TBS of mayo and salsa to my can of tuna (My sis taught me that. I thought it was gross when I saw her do that, but it is good) I will never do that again. Can't wait to have my sis taste this one... SSSOOOOO YUMMY! THANKS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

How to Make Tuna Salad

Enjoy a light, healthy lunch with this quick and easy tuna salad.

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Spice up tuna salad with a little curry and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States