Jule Kaga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
This is a wonderful Norwegian bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Thanks for submitting this recipe Janice. It went together well and turned out/tasted great! I liked the first rising with only half the flour. I like cardamom and plan to increase it by 1 tsp. next time. Great recipe to do with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This is just like my Norwegian mother used to make, but in Norwegian it's called Julekage. It was a family tradition and my German father enjoyed it too. It's particularly good when heated and spread with butter and keeps well in the refrigerator. Great recipe, one of the best Christmas recipes you've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Guben, Brandenburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
My Norwegian grandmother made this for years, and now my 90-year-old mother continues to make our "Norwegian Christman Bread" using Gram's huge bread-mixer. Mom sends it to family in Alaska, Texas, Colorado, Virginia, Maryland, and New York State every year; our whole family always saves it for Christmas morning breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Same recipe as my Norwegian grandmother used to make. She would put citron in with the dried cherries. Then she would make another batch but without the cherries, citron or raisins. That bread made the greatest toast for breakfast! I make both of them. Here's some info on cardamom. It's VERY expensive and the pungency will fade from purchase date to the next year. I keep my bottle tightly capped, put it in a ziploc freezer bag and keep it in the freezer. It is also used to season "krumkage" which is similair to a pizelle OR waffle cone that is cooked and rolled around dowling while hot. Good stuff! I think the title means "crumb cookie" which describes it very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Wonderful! I had an old recipe for this bread which I conveniently lost... this one is so much better! The bread stays moist and flavorful for 2 or 3 days. This does take all day to make, however, so start it early in the day... or be prepared to stay up late at night! But it's definitely worth the effort. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Loved this recipe!! While it is time consuming, it is not complicated. I halved the recipe and only made one big loaf. The bread turned out rather dense, like a cakey-bread and did not rise much for the final rising. I am not sure if that was me or the recipe. Also, I substituted dried bing cherries for the candied cherries. I only had cardamom pods, so I crushed three (3)and steeped them in the milk. The bread was fragrant but not too assertive for us. I first had this bread with Norwegian Gjetost goat cheese. The combination is unbelievably delicious. This is our new Christmas bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Both sets of my grandparents were from Norway, so I grew up with Julekaga every Christmas. However, our recipe doesn't use dry yeast, uses regular milk (non-scalded) and it contains 6 tsp of cardemom! I love it, but my husband calls it "yuck-akaga"--I think the cardemom is too strong for his liking . . . ha . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
Very nice to find this here!! Indeed a gorgeous bread, or as we would more consider it in Sweden; "en kaka". The title though is quite misleading: not that is matters to people over there, but Jule Kage is actually Danish (yeas there IS a difference!), and in pure Sw it would be Jul Kaka. Although similar, this is more correct. Curiously I have never heard about a "kage" like this being of Swedish tradition.I guess it actually is Danish and that the author has mixed up the countries. So, try it, and enjoy the smells; and give it the title "Jule kage - a Danish cardomom bread" OR "Jul Kaka - a Swedish c. b." Merry Christmas. God Jul! Josquin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I don't know whose correct about the origins of this bread, but it's definitely a nice bread. I made it in the bread machine and used maraschino cherries bc I don't have candied cherries. It was a bit sticky (probably due to the cherries) but it baked up well and the bread itself is a very soft white bread. Tastes pretty good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States