Juicy Turkey Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
what a fabulous turkey burger recipe!!! truly 5-star worthy. i had a pound of extra lean (97/3) ground turkey, which if you've ever had it, you know there's virtually no way to make it "juicy" or "flavorful" in anything. i thought i'd give this a whirl and am so glad i did. i shredded a pink lady apple on my cheese grater, and i'm not sure if that's finely shredded or not, but it work. i chose to use bread crumbs instead of the brown rice because it was easier (didn't have leftover rice, otherwise i would have gone that route). i also did not have all of the individual spices. i took a chance and used mccormick's turkey rub instead (1 tsp). this included the sage, thyme, pepper, parsley, onion, and garlic. i did add extra garlic as well, and chose not to put it the allspice or cayenne. this sub worked really well in my opinion! kids loved them when served on buns with ketchup, american cheese, and pickles. for the grown-ups, we enjoyed them with a squirt of light mayo, lettuce, and tomato. delicious and very juicy, as it claims, even with the super lean turkey. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I thought these were VERY, VERY good. I like ground turkey in spaghetti, tacos etc but I never liked it as a burger. It just never tasted right. Not sure why lol. I gave this one a try and its because the apples sounded interesting. I'm so glad I did. I omitted cayenne only because I wasn't sure how spicy it was gonna be and my kids don't like spicy stuff. I couldn't find the dried thyme and I didn't use parsley. Rice did not sound good to me so I left that out also. I shredded my apples but not finely. My 2 1/2 year old son that is the pickiest kid ever ate his ENTIRE burger and asked for another one!! Will definitely make this again. Next time I will probably add a little bit more onions and another pinch or 2 of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Very good. The apple and rice definitely improve the texture, and flavor, of ground turkey! I was worried at first that the burgers would taste like 'Thanksgiving' with the sage, but no. I tried to follow the recipe exactly, but I didn't have the exact herbs. Used a scant teaspoon of ground sage, as the ground seemed more potent than the rubbed; minced my thyme leaves with an herb mincer. Changes I made on purpose: left out the allspice and used half as much cayenne. I guess I'm stuck in my ways (understatement), but generally don't care for what I think of as baking spices in meat dishes, so left out the allspice. I didn't taste the cayenne, so could probably use more next time, but may not, as the flavor was good anyway. Minced the onion instead of grating. I also forgot the parsley. We ate these on whole-wheat buns with onion, lettuce, and tomato, and Red and Sweet Potato Salad. My fiance actually gave these a five, and when I asked him what he liked about them, he said 'compared to last night'. (We had black bean burgers the night before...which he ate, but apparently didn't like very much!) So I'm rating a four, which for me is Very Good, but not five, which is Knock Your Socks Off Can't Get Enuf. Also, I would like to try this recipe with quinoa instead of rice, as I've also tried the Turkey Quinoa Meatloaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Very tasty! I made it withouth the sage (hubby can't eat sage), and used chopped scallion vs. grated onion, and it was very good. Whole family enjoyed it! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbcam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Great recipe ;) i use apple sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
These are really great and super moist! My modifications: I didn't have a whole pound of gr turkey (closer to 3/4) but I used the full amount of spices. Instead of brown rice I used old fashioned oats and it worked well. I didn't peel and grate the apples, I left the skin on and finely chopped them (less work), as another reveiwer suggested I added carrots to the mix! YUM! This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Exceptional! Moist, juicy (no more dry turkey burgers!) and SO flavorful. Another reviewer called these 'mild'; sage is not what I consider mild so unless you love sage, suggest to decrease to 1 t. Sub'd breadcrumbs for cooked quinoa and added a handful of fesh baby spinach (shredded) b/c I had it on hand to use. Divine on a sesame bun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThnkThn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this dish last night, and while the spices created a very nice flavor combination, I thought that the addition of the grated apple and the rice made it a bit too "mushy" on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveinit
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
While I did make some slight changes, like using a large sized apple, adding in more onion, worcestershire sauce, grated carrots, and quite a bit of seasonings, I have to say that it was the idea of the apple that made it a winner. Super moist and flavorful. Thanks for the excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Moist, juicy burger. Mild taste (doesn't make sense with the cayenne pepper, but it's so).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States