Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I have used a few other turkey recipes here and this was so good at Thanksgiving that I am doing it again tomorrow for our Christmas dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Made my first turkey ever for Thanksgiving. Followed this recipe and instructions everyone LOVED the turkey. It was super juicy and tender. I cooked a 21 lbs turkey so I increased each ingredient by half. Try it, it wont disappoint!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shea Blair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Redces
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I must say... For being a hard food critic this recipe was great! I used half bottle of cider and half bottle of white wine, plus I let the turkey marinate with the rub and liquids for a day. The turkey came out very flavorful and moist. Oh, I also added extra orange wedges and added orange zest underneath the turkey skin for extra zesty flavor! All-in-all, great flavorful turkey! Thank you for sharing this recipe! -Red
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This was my first time making a turkey. Everyone loved it and talked about how juicy and flavorful it was! Now I'm a pro ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RiceLover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Although I have been a member of this site for years and regularly use the recipes on it, this is my first review - because this recipe is AMAZING! I have cooked turkey before and it was good (nothing to write a review about), but last Thanksgiving I was entertaining for ten people and had to prepare the biggest turkey of my life (17lbs!) and I was scared. Coming across this recipe changed EVERYTHING. I followed the directions exactly - didn't change a thing. The turkey came out perfectly, was a gorgeous golden color, tasted absolutely delicious, and everyone at the table not only asked for seconds (sometimes thirds) but wanted the recipe. If you a have turkey to roast, look no further than this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This was my first time making Thanksgiving dinner...I was so nervous! Found this recipe and decided to try it. The only thing I did differently was marinate the turkey overnight with the chicken broth and champagne. It was delicious and juicy! Everyone loved it and now want me to make it for Xmas! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Giving this 5 stars even though mine came out a bit dry. This was do to my own mistake. I roasted in my Nesco roaster vs tenting and roasting in oven. The turkey tested done over 1 1/2 hours sooner then what roaster directions stated, and I was a bit worried my meat themometer was not reading correct temp of meat. So I decided to cook it an additional hour. Should not have done that. The tase was great, through! Made wonderful gravy from drippings. Will definitely make this again and not cook as long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
The reviews don't lie! This was my first turkey and I pretty much did as directed. Marinaded in broth overnight, threw the rub on in the cavity and under the skin the morning of and cooked. It was perfect and got comments like "best turkey I've ever had". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I have been brining my turkey for the last 8 years but it is such a hassle that on a whim on Tuesday, I decided to look for a new recipe. I lucked out, in that I had all of the ingredients for this one, including the champagne, so decided to go ahead and give it a try. The changes I made - mixed all the dry ingredients into a 1/2 cup of softened butter & rubbed all over, inside & out, then stuffed the bird with an onion & apples. Normally I cook the morning of thanksgiving but I always run behind because it ends taking an extra hour or 90 minutes to get the temp up to 180 so I also changed things up by cooking the bird on Wednesday. The house smelled so good on Wednesday that I was a little bummed that I had not waited. Even though I cooked on Wednesday, then refrigerated over night and reheated on Thursday, the bird was not at all dried out. I wish that the instructions for making gravy with the drippings would have been included. After searching the internet, I found a really good one (http://www.thekitchn.com/how-to-make-quick-turkey-gravy-thanksgiving-cooking-lessons-from-the-kitchn-161016). I thought the dippings made excellent gravy. When I brine, the drippings are way too salty. One other comment, my brine included 2 cups of bourbon and I loved the flavor it gave the turkey and was really hoping to find a recipe that used bourbon but no such luck when I searched by ingredients. I will use this recipe again next year unless I find one that has bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I was reluctant because there were so many things this recipe called for, but I usually follow the recipe the first time. It was juicy as I expected, but it wasn't bone dry either. I placed it in a cooking bag and added all of the ingredients. There is really a need for someone to give me a really good recipe for a moist turkey. I'll make sandwiches this week and turkey salad until it's gone. I'm not sure if I will try this again or not. Next year I may go back to cornish hens. I'm tired of dry turkeys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States