Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I cooked a 20 # bird and the legs were falling off in 4 hours, but the breast was still moist. I didn't do the whole line the pan with foil and wrap it up around, I simply covered the pan tightly with foil. It would probably work with one of the old fashioned granite roasters too! Will definitely be cooking all my turkeys this way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockway, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I tried this as my very first turkey and it came out great! It was juicy and tender. I received lots of compliments. I did change it alittle. I used all fresh seasonings and added ginger ale instead of champagne. Was a great turkey receipt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I seriously would have given this 10 stars if I could have. This is, hands down, the best turkey I have ever had/made. I followed the recipe to a T and it turned out wonderfully. I am not a dark meat eater, I don't generally enjoy it, but this recipe made ALL the meat so flavorful it was AMAZING. The drippings/stock from the turkey make an amazing gravy too! Hello school lunch memories! The next day I had some shredded turkey along with the left over gravy, over mashed potatoes. I was 9 years old again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Was really intrigued by this recipe and decided to risk a fresh turkey and fix it. All I had for a sparkling wine was an Asti spomonte that smelled very sweet when it was opened. Went for broke and used it anyway. It even didn't smell that great while it was cooking, so I was worried the whole time. I used a cooking bag and it was done In a little over two hours for a 14 pound turkey. The turkey had a pop up button it it was right on for the doneness. The results.....FABULOUS!!!!!! The skin was perfectly browned(from the sugar in the wine I am sure), the meat was juicy and tender and the gravy from the juices was outstanding. What I would do differently next time is pour the sparkling wine over and in the bird, then rub with olive oil and then the spices. Pouring the wine over the bird after rubbing with the spices just rinsed all the spices off the top. I think any sparkling white wine would do, tho would not use such a sweet wine the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Had to give this recipe 5 stars even though I didn't prepare it exactly as written. My friend had already made her favorite stuffing (a very meaty stuffing with crasins). But, I believe it's the roasting process that is the key! We used 1/2 the amount of spices, stuffed the turkey, poured in the champagne and broth, and wrapped as directed. Done in 4 1/4 hours at 360 degrees (high altitude). AWESOME!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Used this recipe for Thanksgiving 2012. It was easy and delicious! Very juicy, and the gravy was great! This will be my default turkey recipe. Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was AMAZING! Juicy and moist, everyone loved it! Seriously best turkey recipe ever must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This was my first time cooking a turkey...and it was AWESOME!!! I used ginger-ale instead of champagne and I used an oven bag. I injected the turkey with some of the ginger-ale and chicken broth and allowed it to marinate over night. The turkey was so moist, the meat was literally falling off the bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEJEZZY00

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I have cooked the thanksgiving meal for a huge family for years and this year I tried this recipe. Everyone said it was the moistest and most delicious turkey I have ever cooked. Thank you so much for the recipe. This will be the way I cook turkey from now on! One suggestion for serving - if you take the cooked mixture that was in the bird and sprinkle it on top of a slice of turkey, it is even more amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaratogaEric

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Round Lake, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Used on two turkey breast with good results in that the meat was moist. As previously reviewed by someone else, I marinated it overnight in the broth and champagne. However, honestly, I did not think all the spices and vegetables really was worth all the trouble as the amount of flavoring that was infused into the meat was minimal for all the work. Likely could have had similar results by also just using the broth, keeping the bird covered during baking and not overbaking to have a moist meat in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States