Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Fabulous recipe, but TIPS! I made this last night, just as directed though I substituted sparkling cider for the champagne (trying to save a stop at the liquor store and it sounded good, shame on me). I do NOT recommend this. I will in the future go for a white wine or dry champagne, as I was not a fan of the sweetness from using the cider. Also, the orange in the cavity sounded so fancy and like it would have this nice light aroma of oranges. Nope, tastes like sweet orange turkey. However, I can see where this recipe is going, and I am giving it 5 stars because never in my life have I had turkey this moist. With the exception of my personal taste preferences, this is a fantastic recipe! I'll still eat the turkey, just have to find the right recipes for the meat :) As far as cooking the turkey, I used a roaster on 350 for about 2.5 hours (the turkey was in a bag), and this was for a 12# bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe this Thanksgiving. Since it was my first time making the turkey and ham, I was so nervous. Turkey came out great everyone loved it. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was amazing and super simple! Hands down, the juiciest turkey with the least amount of effort. Make sure to use a DEEP baking/roasting dish as the liquid really bubbles up. Same goes for foil tent over the turkey, keep it crimped on the pan to avoid an in oven mess! I'm going to try a bag for this reason next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Perfect turkey, every single time. It is so moist and delicious. The juices make the BEST gravy. I am the only one allowed to cook the turkey for holidays now. The only thing extra I do is brine the turkey a day before and adjust cooking times depending on the bird's weight. I am so grateful for this recipe. It's the one I used for my first Thanksgiving I cooked and will use it until my last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I have to agree with everybody else, this is the best turkey I've ever made. I marinated the turkey the night before and stuffed it before cooking. Everybody loved it. My sister came back on Friday for the left overs. I even posted it in my fb..that's how proud I was about it...Thank you for sharing this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
First timer, yet best turkey I ever tasted, most moist, and so tender I carved half with just my bare hands. No champagne, used red wine. Added 1 quart of drippings, shredded meat, juices, and skin from a pork roast a few days earlier. Skipped the skin crisping stage and kept it in the foil. Substituted salt with seasoning salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made my first turkey this Thanksgiving and followed this recipe. The turkey was awesome and came out super juicy! I have never tasted a turkey like it. The meat was falling off of the bone so well we barely needed a knife to cut the turkey. I marinated the turkey (with all spices the recipe calls for) in the champagne and chicken broth the day before and baked for about 6 hours on 250 degrees. Then, reheated it an hour before Thanksgiving dinner on 350. I'd recommend this recipe to anyone. You won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This was the first turkey I've ever made. I was terrified by all the nay-sayers out there saying that turkey was so difficult to get right and that even a perfectly made turkey was not moist or flavorful. Not being a terribly seasoned chef, I followed the recipe to the letter, and let me tell you... This recipe proves them all wrong!!! My husband even begrudgingly said that it was better than his father's! He thought something was wrong because he'd never seen so much juice when he cut into it. I believe it was as close to perfect as a turkey can get! Thank you so much for this gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I have made this (minus the chicken stock and carrots) for several years. It's on point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Didn't add chicken broth; 15 lb turkey cooked almost 5 hours. Broth was great for noodles and gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Juicy Thanksgiving Turkey

A secret ingredient helps create a succulent holiday turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

Lauren's Apple Cider Roast Turkey

Apple cider brined turkey, roasted to perfection.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States